Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 12, 2013 - 1:09 a.m.
"the tense last day"

Hey Journal!

What a tense last day of packing. I really thought we were almost done, and I thought today was going to be a calm, put-some-stuff-in-the-car-and-say-goodbye day. Boy, was I wrong!

I got up at the usual time today and headed in to work. I planned to go for a short time and then leave at noon to meet Dan and finish our move. I was so tired when I got up, having not gotten to sleep until LATE last night.

The golf course was closed today so things were pretty calm there. I went through the mail, I had gotten a lot of emails over the weekend, and I just finished up some random stuff.

Re came in a little after 10 to pay some bills (for the places that were open on Veteran's Day) and to do all of the closes and get things ready for the bank. I felt bad leaving early because I like when we actually get to be at work at the same time... but I had no choice!

I left at 12:00 and on my way I stopped at Target to get some Command towel hangers for the bathroom and a new showerhead. The one that's in there now isn't a hand-held one, and it also has such a weird sprayer. I picked out a good one, and headed home.

I figured we'd be there until about 4:00, but as things went on...I realized it was going to take a LOT longer! We did some INTENSE packing... we had to get everything out since tomorrow is the closing!

We packed up the car and took a load of stuff over to the storage facility. After that, we went to home depot and got another box. They had a little display in the front of the store with like two little ferns on it... and a big sign that said "TROPICAL EVENT!" I loved it. I wanted to take a photo of it, but this stupid woman was standing right in front of it, staring blankly at it, and not moving. She was making me angry.

After we got back, my mom stopped by on her way home from work to take some of our belongings. She took the wooden folding tables, the vacuum cleaner, some mops, and other random stuff.

We packed up more and it was really stressful. It seems like the closer we get to the end, the harder it is to sort things into the correct places to pack. It's more like a big mishmash of things that don't really go together but need to go somewhere!

Since the giant couch bags we purchased aren't large enough for either of our couches, we used one of them as a giant garbage bag instead.

We loaded up the car again and we were starting to get hungry, so we went over to Monte's across the street to get some Pizza. Jordan was working tonight, so we said Hi to him, and filled him in on our move. He said he already knew because he saw our moving pictures on Facebook!

We ate our pizza and then made another storage run. That was at about 8:45 and then we stopped at Home Depot again to get MORE boxes. This time, I was able to get a photo of the amazing Tropical Event. I was actually kinda surprised that the dumbfounded lady wasn't still standing there.

While we were there we made a copy of the key to Dan's parents' house so that I can get in. I got a cool pixelated camo patterned key. It was worth the extra money.

The last of the packing was really tense. We packed the last boxes... some random kitchen stuff, random other stuff, and we loaded up the cars again. We had a few miscellaneous items laying around and decided we'll stop over tomorrow before the closing... pick them up... and then say our final goodbyes to our place.

It was kinda sad. I took a lot of photos to remember it by. While making one final trip to the car, we were witness to more of #1s antics.

He was sitting on the bench outside, looking vile as could be. He may have been drunk, or maybe just stupid (his natural state.) A woman, I guess a friend of his, came over to help him inside. They were walking in and he tumbled into the PVC railing. He took out the railing, the giant column which holds up the overhang above the front door, and the pieces scattered all around. He wound up in the bushes. It was so ridiculous, and so foolish.

I tell you, of all the things about living there, the one I will not miss one bit will be him. It's so fitting, though, that this would happen on our last night! It sums up our entire 7 years of having him as a neighbor.

Meanwhile, we were now scared that they would think WE did it since we had been bringing out couches and boxes and lots of heavy things. We were afraid they would think it was our fault and try to charge us for it! Dan took a photo of the creature going inside afterwards and also of the broken items. Not conclusive evidence, but the best we could get.

We left around 11:00 and headed back to Dan's parents' house. We settled in and unpacked some of the stuff we brought over.

Unfortunately, I had wanted to spend some time setting up the cable... but it was too late. The cable wires are all in the ceiling over the bar, and I remember them being pretty hard to access. The connection in the bedroom isn't working, and I guess it got disconnected when they installed Fios.

I'm going to try to do that tomorrow... but I want to make it known that I'm really annoyed that they have Fios here. I hate it. Cablevision is much better.

Anyway, I took a shower, I am EXHAUSTED, and it's SUPER LATE!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com