Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 10, 2013 - 11:02 p.m.
"the end of a chapter"

Hey Journal!

Well, today has been an absolute whirlwind! I can't believe that we're almost completely moved out of our place, and that the closing is right around the corner.

I've really been sentimental that this chapter of our life is coming to a close. During the day we've got so much to do and we're moving at a crazy pace to try to get all the things we have moved into storage or over to Dan's parents house for our interim accommodations. But then, when the night falls and it's time to go to bed.... as was the case last night... I start to really think about everything, and it hits me how much of a change this is.

I know we're making the right decision, and I know we are ready to buy a house. The only way to buy a house is to sell our co-op, and there's no way to get the timing exactly right. It just feels like we're leaving such a big part of our lives behind and don't have anything on the horizon yet to work towards. I also think back to all the excitement when we moved in almost 7 years ago and think about all of the fun times we've had there.

It's weird going from having a place of your own to not having one in one day.

The difference, I feel, for moving out as opposed to moving in was that when we left our childhood homes, we took our time and had the luxury of moving things out at our pace. Also, we knew we could "always" go back. We didn't have to say goodbye and never return. That's weird for me. I'm sure it won't be after a few weeks, and as soon as we find a house and start moving towards it, this will be a distant memory. But still, I feel sad and sentimental about it all.

When I thought about moving all of the big furniture we had, I knew it was going to be a big job. For weeks I've been telling people how heavy the desk is, how hard it's going to be to carry, and how I can't imagine that we can fit everything into the storage unit.

Well, today, I was shocked at how much of an underestimation I had made.

We started early this morning. We got up at about 9:30, after having gotten to bed at 3:30am! Ugh!

I watched a little TV, and by 10:30, work had commenced. Dan and I lifted some of the lighter of the heavy stuff, moved it out, and put it in the back of the truck. We made some good progress, and my mom stopped by to check out the truck! We rearranged the storage place a little and tried to prepare it for what was to come.

One of the highlights of the first trip was that when I got ready to pull out with the truck, there was a note on the window. See, late last night when we got home, Dan and I moved our cars to visitors spots and parked the big truck in both of our parking spots. Apparently, the parking tsar didn't realize this and put a big sign on the truck asking us to move because we were taking up someone else's assigned spot. HAHA! I saved the sign as a parting memento.

Anyway, we got back home and tried to prep as much as possible for when Linda and Dan arrived. They came at about 1:00, and then the heavy lifting began.

Before I give you the play-by-play, I want to say that I knew we were going to need Dan for his ability to lift heavy things. I knew he was going to be a great help to us, but I had no idea how much he was going to do. Also, looking back on today, I don't think we could have done this without him.

First we leaded the large couch, the pieces of the desk, the small couch, a big dresser, and a filing cabinet. We got them onboard and were soon on our way to the storage facility.

When we got there, we unloaded, and it was a real crazy time getting everything into the elevator, out of the elevator, and then down the hallway!

Now, not only is Dan (Linda's Dan) a great heavy lifter... but he also is amazing at Tetrising all of our stuff into the unit. When we opened it up, I had a sinking feeling that all of the stuff we had brought wasn't going to fit. It took up the entire bed of the truck which was almost as big as our whole unit. Amazing, Dan got it all in there! He put the couches on their sides, put the desk in, and then arranged our other things around it. It was unbelievable!

I forgot to mention that just as we had finished loading up the truck, it started to rain! I couldn't believe it... I had looked at the weather and it wasn't supposed to rain at all the entire weekend!! We hurried as fast as we could to get to the storage unit, and luckily it had pretty much stopped by the time we got there, although I had to quickly dry off the desk because the pressboard is known to get all warped!

While we were inside the storage place, it must have poured, because when we came out, it was wet all over! We really lucked out that we missed the worst of it!

When we were finished, we were pretty hungry, so we decided to break for lunch/dinner.

When we picked up the truck last night at the golf course, I was super nervous about driving it. I couldn't see out of the rearview mirror, and the side mirrors were almost useless. I can't imagine how people drive those things on a regular basis. Although that never got any better, I got much more confident as the day went on. By the time we returned the truck, I felt really good about my ability to drive a truck and I would definitely do it again!

So, for dinner we went to Branchinelli's in Hauppauge and I think we arrived around 4pm. We got a crazy table that was more like a daius. Dan and I treated everyone to say thank you for their help. Connor didn't eat his pizza because he said he wasn't hungry and Cameron at about 1/2 of a meatball on her spaghetti and meatballs. However, Dan, Linda, Dan, and I definitely had worked up an appetite!

After dinner, we came back and loaded up the stuff we had to bring to Dan's parents' house. We had our bed, a nightstand, my dresser, and a TV stand that really has to go to storage but we're bringing here in the meantime.

We got everything onto the truck and then headed over here. Moving stuff in went really smoothly, thanks again to Dan (Linda's Dan) who carried all the heavy stuff and really had the whole operation under control.

We set up the bedroom and surprisingly we have been able to keep things pretty neat. It's going to be tough keeping all of our lives mostly contained in one little room... but we're going to try as best we can to make the best of everything.

When we were done here, we said goodbye to Linda and the whole moving crew. Dan and I went to the golf course to drop off the truck and then we came back to our place to pick up some more necessities. We packed up the car and then came back here.

There was a lot more to unload and set up. We hooked up the TV... though that may require a little more work because we need to figure out how to get cable in the room. There's a jack, but it's not live. I have to poke around the ceiling, and hopefully I can find it!

Eventually, we took showers, got into our PJs and at about 11:00 we started watching Once Upon a Time. I felt a little conflicted about starting a show so late when I have to get up early tomorrow... but I really wanted to do something normal to take my mind off of all the craziness.

The show was good, and it looks like next week's episode will be pretty intense.

Now it's time for bed, and we're off to sleep in our NEW place... at least until we can find our next adventure!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com