Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 12, 2013 - 10:41 p.m.
"the final goodbye" or "the closing is adjourned"

Hey Journal!

Well, today was a depressing day. It was depressing for two conflicting reasons.

We got up around 9:30 this morning and got set to make our final trip to our house to pick up the remaining items, walk around, and spend some time taking photos and saying our final goodbyes.

We packed up the last of our things in the car and then we reflected on all of the fun times we had there, the changes we had made to the place, and all of the things that we'll miss. We walked around the completely empty rooms and remember the day when we moved in. Most of it is exactly the same.

There was so much fun and adventure ahead of us when we moved in. The last time we saw the place empty, we were beginning a great adventure and taking a huge step forward in life. That was so long ago, now... and we've come so far.

But now we're leaving...and although the goal of leaving is to start a new adventure, and a new chapter in life by getting a house... a house, on a piece of property all our own, it still feels sad. It doesn't feel like we're headed for anything better.. it feels like we're giving up all that we had.

I guess it's because we haven't found a new house and we don't have anything concrete to look forward to, but it just feels so weird to think that what was ours for so long will no longer be ours.

As we left, we both turned off the light at the same time and then we each put our key into one of the locks and turned them at the same time. We walked out, and that was that!

Writing about it now, it's really hitting me again.

Unfortunately, things didn't really go according to plan after that. We came back to Dan's parents' house and got ready for the closing. We got bagels for breakfast and I ate my leftover spaghetti from the other day. We knew that we were waiting for FINAL approval from the buyer's bank, but we were all hoping it would come through and we'd be able to go forward.

I went down in the basement and took out the ceiling tiles. I found the splitter and looked for unhooked wires. The first one I found wasn't the one I was looking for. I tested it out and still got no signal. I used a flashlight and found another lone wire connected to a different splitter a few tiles over. I connected that one, and it worked! Wahoo!

As the scheduled time of 2:00 approached, we were getting worried. We had some errands to run, so we went to Cablevision to drop off our CableCard and modem. Then we went to the Fios store to pick up the new CableCard for Dan's parents' account.

That Fios store was so gross. It was small, rundown, and junky looking. They had three people "working" and a long line of customers waiting. Most people looked like they were returning equipment, which doesn't really surprise me at all since they SUCK. One of the women behind the counter's personal cell phone kept going off, and another one kept getting work-related calls from people who were apparently lost trying to find the place. WHY they would have someone who's helping customers also answering the phone makes no sense at all!

We finally got word that the closing had been postponed because the buyer's bank was requesting more documentation before they would release the funds for her loan. I don't understand why they are, all of a sudden, holding up the process... but it's ridiculous. We called Carolyn and talked to her about it, and then our lawyers. The hope is that they can get all the documents they need and we can close next week on either Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday.

So, it was sad leaving our house for the last time, seeing it all empty and saying goodbye, and now I'm depressed that the closing didn't go through! I got myself mentally prepared to say goodbye and leave, and now I can't get rid of it! What a mess.

Oh, and by the way... WHAT THE HECK WAS WITH THE RANDOM SNOW TODAY!? When I woke up this morning and came upstairs I saw snow all of the place! I hadn't heard anything about snow! I hate this kind of weather. It was frigid, too! Not okay.

So, after that disappointing news we came back to our basement lair. We cleaned things up, tried to put away our clothes, and get our things organized. I hooked up the TV...so we can now watch things in our room. I hate having a TV in the bedroom, but in this situation it's necessary.

We helped Dan's mom move a bookcase and moved Dan's Dad's computer upstairs into the office. Now we are going to put our computer in the basement.

I watched the news from 4:00 - 6:30 as I cleaned things up.

At 6:30, I stopped working and we watched World News. It was nice to see Diane and get back into my routine! I can't wait to go to the gym tomorrow... It's been way too long! Ugh!

For dinner we had hamburgers and fries and then I watched a weird movie with George Clooney where he's a lawyer. I got into it, but then I couldn't finish it so I recorded the rest. Dan's parents get all the movie channels, so that should help us pass the time!

At 8:30 we watched SHIELD and then I took a shower and got ready for bed.

What a crazy day. First we were sad that we were leaving out place, and now we're sad that it didn't happen. What a roller coaster. I just want this weight off my shoulders.

Now it's time to get to bed and back to work tomorrow!

It'll actually be nice to get to work and be back in familiar surroundings. I don't have to feel like I'm completely displaced.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com