Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 20, 2013 - 9:14 p.m.
"the closing"

Hey Journal!

Well, today was the big day. The day we'd been waiting for for some time now! The closing!

It was very different from how I remembered our closing being when we purchased the place. We arrived at 1:00pm and we waited in the lobby until everyone was there and they were ready to start.

Our real estate agent, the buyer (Corrine), and her agent came at almost the exact same time, and both lawyers showed up a little later. It was interesting meeting her for the first time. We said hello and made some small talk in the lobby while we waited.

Finally, we went into the conference room and sat around the table. Corrine said she felt like she was on The Apprentice. She seemed really nice, and I'm happy for her. I hope she really likes living there, and has good luck with it all. If she's lucky... she'll make some money off of it!

I feel like today's closing was a lot less stressful and a lot lighter than the last time. Everyone was having side conversation and joking around.... last time I think it was all business! I even brought my own pen with me because I remember they were very stingy with pens!

So, we signed some papers... a lawyer from Wells Fargo (her bank) came to drop off her check and get her to sign some stuff.... then Dan and I had to sign a bunch of random papers, and then our bank's lawyer showed up with our stock certificate. Our certificate was cancelled, and we had to write out some checks.

We owed over $8,000 just to get rid of this house. So, on top of the money that we lost-- our down payment, and all of the principal we paid while we lived there... we also lost another $8,000+ today. Overall we really got screwed on the deal, but we had to get rid of it in order to get something new and to move on.

When we were all finished we gave Corrine the keys and she seemed a little nervous. When her agent asked her if she was going to go over there right away, she said no... she said she wasn't going to go there today.... and didn't even seem to know exactly when she wanted to move in. For someone who I thought was really in a rush to get things done, I was shocked that she wasn't even going to go there today! I mean, wouldn't you want to just stand there and take it all in, in your new place!? Oh well!

It still hadn't sunk in fully that we aren't going to go in there again... and not only that... but we actually CAN'T go back there anymore. At least up until this point, even though we had moved out, we could still stop by if we had wanted to. Now it's not ours.... we have no connection there anymore, and it's all over! So surreal!

This morning we got up at the usual time and got ready for work. Dan left before me, and then I realized he had taken my car keys with me! Dan's dad drove me to work, and it was a pretty quiet morning. Dan only went to work for two hours, so he came to the golf course around 11:15. He hung out there for a while, and at 12:45 we left to go to the closing.

After the closing, we came home and I had some leftover pizza for lunch. Then we got ready to go to the gym, but on the way we took a detour over to Target to get The Settlers of Catan! It's kind of an expensive game.... but I can't wait to play it!

Gym Report:
2 miles in 32 minutes

I wasn't feeling 100% so I just walked two miles today.

When we got back from Target and the gym, I was feeling pretty tired and we just relaxed and watched some TV. We had dinner, and then watched The Middle and some Judge Judy!

I know it's kinda early, but I'm not feeling great.... so I'm gonna get to sleep now!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com