Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 24, 2013 - 11:58 p.m.
"merry christmas eve"

Hey Journal!

Merry Christmas Eve! I can't believe it's that time again!

This morning we got up at 10:30 and Dan's mom brought us home McDonald's for breakfast. After we ate, we went out to Bottle Bargains to get something to bring with us to my Aunt's house tonight. Dan got two bottles of cider, and then we went to Target.

We got a few last minute gifts and perused the goods. When we got home, I went online and used a Best Buy gift certificate that I had gotten for free that was expiring today. They just e-mailed it to me a couple of weeks ago for no reason at all! It was nice, but I didn't know what to get but I didn't want to let it go to waste, so I bought an iTunes gift card!! At least I'll use it eventually, and it won't expire!

When we got home, we got showered up and ready for Christmas Eve! We left here around 4:20 and headed off to my Aunt Regina's house. We arrived just a few minutes before 5 and we pulled up right behind my mom who was driving my Grandma, Grandpa, and Eric and Ryan!

There was a little bit of a change to the attendance tonight-- First, my Uncle Thomas was supposed to head down earlier today, but wasn't able to leave because his street flooded and water went into his basement. He stayed home to get everything fixed up and is hoping to come tomorrow morning instead!

Then, Alexandra was in the hospital because she couldn't pee and they were holding her there until she was able to. I don't think they were planning to come for Christmas Eve but since Alexandra was in the hospital and my Aunt and Uncle were with her, my mom brought Eric and Ryan!

We hung around in the living room for a while, sat by the fire, and enjoyed Christmas Eve! It had a very different feel than past Christmas Eves. Probably mostly because Dan wasn't there. He and Jackie had some of Jackie's family over his house instead.

Dinner was good, we all fit at the table and we had chicken, mashed potatoes, carrots, and more! Dinner was good, and then we went back to the living room to open presents.

When we were done, we had dessert. There were some really good cookies and I had several of them!

Around 9:30, someone opened the front door and we were all shocked to see almost an inch of snow on the ground! I had heard there was a small chance of flurries tonight but it was really coming down hard! The flakes were really big and they were definitely sticking!

That put the brakes on the evening and everyone raced to get their coats on and leave! We literally left within ten minutes of realizing that it was snowing! I was a little sad that the evening got cut short!

I walked my Grandpa out their car and my mom was driving. Dan and I were following them. As we made our way down the road, my mom was creeping at like 5mph, so Dan and I figured I should call them and see if they wanted me to drive their car! We wound up switching, my mom rode with Dan and I drove everyone else.

As we turned out onto William Floyd, the car was okay but you could feel the wheels slipping a little and the car's anti-skid system was doing something with the brakes! I think that was causing more weirdness than the actual snow. I'm not sure what it actually does, but the car didn't slide at all, so I guess it was good.

We made our way slowly to the expressway, but once we were on the Expressway the roads were pretty clear. There was a little bit of congestion about halfway home because I think we were all stuck behind some slow-moving plows.

We got home around 10:15 and dropped the triplets off and then dropped my Grandma and Grandpa off. Their driveway was soooo icy! It was covered. We helped my Grandpa walk in and then we headed home!

The roads around here were fine, so that was good. Now we're just getting ready to get to sleep and waiting for Santa Claus to come!

Tomorrow should be a fun time, although I forgot to mention that my Grandma tried to change the time of dinner tomorrow so that I'd be late and miss it! It was a nasty trick, but luckily I convinced her to change it back!

Tomorrow Christmas festivities include brunch at Dan's parents' house, opening presents, and then going to my Grandma's in the afternoon.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com