Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 06, 2014 - 10:35 p.m.
"piece by piece" or "rusty's storyline"

Hey Journal!

Phew! I'm exhausted! Today was another day of crazy cleanup at work, and every day we discover more and more weird and unusual things about the clubhouse, and what may have led to the big water disaster!

Anyway, I decided to go in a little later than usual today so I got up at 8:45, got ready, and then made my way in. It took a lot longer than I expected because when I got off of the Northern State at Deer Park Avenue, there was some crazy police activity! They had a ton of police cars and some big police trucks, and it was moving really slowly. It took me about 15 mintues just to get to the part where I could get BACK ON the Northern State!

I diverted to the next exit, and when I finally went to turn onto the road for work, it was CLOSED! There was a police car blocking it! UGH! I went around, and cut through the Jewish cemetery instead of going to the next road. It was foggy, and the cemetery seemed like it went on FOREVER!! I made it though, and I was worried that the road was going to be closed on the other side, too! Luckily, it wasn't and I got to work. Meanwhile, there was NOTHING going on anywhere on the road, so I have no idea why the police had it blocked off. Jackie said the same things when she arrived shortly after me.

When I opened the door to my office it was unbelieveable how hot it was inside! The thermometer said it was 90 degrees!! The server in the office was overheating and the poor cooling fan was running as fast as it could and couldn't keep up! I had to turn it off to avoid damaging it, and so we had no computer systems today. We didn't really need them, though, because I spent very little time in the office today.

The cleaning people didn't come today but they left all of their equipment running. The floors are looking good, and we're just working to get everything set up again. Jackie called in some staff to help her clean the tables and get the water stains off the bar and the bottom of the chairs.

At 12:00, the plumber came in and started working to fix the water lines, specifically the one leading to the dishwasher. He had wanted to take down two giant trunk lines, but it was such a major job, so he tried to find another way. I suggested cutting a hole in the wall on the other side, but he wasn't able to do that, but he did find an access area to the duct on the other side of the wall. He crawled inside and over the next few hours he cut a hole in the duct, worked on the broken pipe from there, and finally got the dishwasher up and running.

The fire sprinkler people have promised to come tomorrow to get the sprinkler system up and running. We found a disconnected duct in the ceiling of the kitchen and Steve had Kyle go up on a big ladder and put it back together! While he was up there, he found that water had pooled in the top of the exhaust fans in the kitchen, and so we drained it by unscrewing the lights! It was a LOT of water! Now, we need an electrician to come and fix all the wiring up there and also work on the electromagnet that keeps the kitchen doors open! It stopped working randomly today.

My mom brought me Chipotle for lunch and it was perfect because I wouldn't have had anything else to eat. Steve also wanted to start playing Words with Friends with me, so I gave him my username and we're currently playing a game!

Mike came to the golf course around 3:00 because he had been in the Dominican Republic and took a flight to Miami today and landed this afternoon at JFK! He had to get home, and then turn around and come right to work! He coordinated with the plumber and is taking over coordinating with the electrician and the fire sprinkler guy. Phew!

I stayed until 5. I'll tell you.... this has been a long few days and is most definitely NOT how I envisioned my first week without Pete at work this Winter! I also signed papers today to get my name on the bank account because there will be a lot of time when I'm by myself and need to sign checks!

On the way home I was in desperate need of gas and of course, the freaking Hess station in Deer Park was closed so I had to drive around all over the place to find an alternative and I went all the way out of the way.

When I finally got home, Dan was leaving to go to the gym. I decided to try the treadmill here, instead. We had set it up last night and I wanted to give it a whirl. Dan said the belt was loose and it kept slipping as he was running this morning, so I tightened it and it's a lot better now. It's not 100% fixed but I was afraid to tighten it too much. I'm gonna look into this more later and maybe see if I can fix it completely tomorrow.

-Gym- Report
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins

I watched World News, and I was happy to see that they have finally started using the "new" ABC logo graphics again in the opening shot. I wonder why they switched to the old one, just for that opening, for about a month! So random. I really wonder if noone realized that they had loaded the wrong version!

Anyway, when Dan got home he brought us Subway for dinner. I have never really been a fan of Subway, but I figured I'd give it a whirl tonight. It was okay... I got a chicken parm hero. It was... eh!

I took a shower and then I did some more laundry and we watched the end of Jeopardy!

I did some random stuff to get ready for bed and then at 9:15 we started watching tonight's episode of Major Crimes!

It was a good one! Things are finally happening with Rusty which is exciting, and I like that tonight's crime tied in with Rusty's case! I loved the end, it was so suspenseful... meanwhile.... I really hope they wrap things up well in next week's episode! (I am also hoping for a surprise visit from Brenda Lee Johnson... though I think that might be asking too much!)

So, now it's time for bed.... another weird day tomorrow, no doubt! I hope it's a little more normal! I really want to get things back to normal at work as soon as possible because even though I'm still there from 9-5, it seems like it throws off my whole day! It's a mess!

Anyway, until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com