Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 01, 2014 - 10:31 p.m.
"happy new year cause it's the first day: 2014"

Hey Journal!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Before I get to today's happenings... let me fill you in on our New Year's Eve! Re met us here at 6:40 and we finished getting ready and then headed out to meet up with Jen B, Amanda, and Liz at Meson Ole for dinner!

When we arrived, we had to wait a while for a table. We had a reservation for 7:00, but apparently some really nasty people came in without a reservation and basically demanded a table, and wound up taking our table. We didn't sit until about 7:45, and by then we were all starving! Everyone was hoping that there wouldn't be any fajita bombs while we were there, and although we weren't able to escape them entirely, none of them were very close to us, so that was good news!

We had a nice meal, I got my Arroz con Pollo, and I realized it's been a while since the last time we were there!

After dinner, we came back here for the festivities and to ring in 2014! We got here a little after 9 and watched CNN. I really have to say that watching ANderson Cooper and Kathy Griffin is soooo sooo much better than watching New Year's Rockin Eve with Ryan Seacrest! First, I don't really like Ryan Seacrest, second, as much as I love ABC, Channel 7, and Eyewitness News... I think it makes absolutely no sense at all to put the 11:00 news on on New Year's Eve!

Plus, Anderson and Kathy have the most amazing rapport and are so weird and hysterical. I love it all. I made a pitcher of Moose Juice and we also had some other drinks. I had some Mike's Hard's as well!

We played Pit and then it was time for the ball to drop! We opened my bottle of Dom Perignon (I don't even like champagne....so everyone else consumed!)

After the ball dropped, we watched TV, played more games, and just hung out!

I had purchased some party crackers at Target, and I wasn't really sure what to expect. In fact, they made me show my driver's license to buy them (I'm not sure why,) but that made them seem even more forbidden! We were all a little scared of them, but we pulled them at the same time! Unfortunately, it was a little bit of a bust. They barely made any noise at all... less noise than those little snap things you throw at the ground in the summer! Meanwhile, only the end of it came off and then you had to open it up and get what was inside. Each one had a paper crown, a weird little toy, and a piece of paper with a joke on it. Some of the jokes were funny but a couple didn't make any sense at all!

We wound up getting to sleep around 4:00am. On a separate note, late in the night, we were watching ABC World News Now, which is a weird news program on when almost noone is watching TV. The funny thing is that I really really like their graphics and their identity.... I love the colors and I'm so curious why World News doesn't use those!

This morning we all woke up at 11:00, which is when I set my alarm for. I was still pretty tired, but Dan and I had plans to go over to my cousin's house so we needed to clean up around here and get ready.

Everyone left around 12:45 and Dan and I got ready, cleaned up, and then headed out around 12:30. We arrived almost exactly at 1:00 and Dan was out getting the pizza. He got back shortly after and we ate! It was pretty good pizza, and Dan showed us a trick of his...putting the pizza on a little flat pan to make the crust crispy! It came out really good that way!

After the pizza, we watched Richie Rich and blew up balloons for a photo shoot with Evelyn later! Evelyn took a nap during the movie. I love Richie Rich...it's such a great movie and it's definitely under appreciated!

When it was over, we went upstairs and took photos of Evelyn for her 1st Birthday invitation. There were two different set-ups... one was her in the crib with balloons all around her, and we took over 100 pictures! Then, the second was a little trickier.... it was her in a basket with balloons tied to it, and it was supposed to look like she was floating away. The hard part was getting a good angle to take the picture because the balloons were making shadows and some pics were too light and others were too dark! It was wild!

Evelyn was good for the whole thing but started to get a little antsy towards the end! Luckily, there were some usable pics in there!!

When we were done, we transferred the pics to the computer and Dan and I were going to head out, but we wound up staying while Jackie started to design the invitation! I had tea and Dan had coffee and then we ate the Entenmann's "Party Cake" that we had brought. I was going to get the vanilla cake with the chocolate on top, but I saw the party cake and wanted to give it a whirl.

We got really into designing the invitation and editing the photos.... Dan photoshopped some of the imperfections (balloon nipples and electrical outlets) out of the picture and I added some effects and filters! They came out really good, and we set the whole thing up really nicely!!

It came out so good... I can't wait to get mine in the mail!

We wound up leaving at 8:00!

When we got home, we watched TV and had some leftovers for dinner. Leftover Arroz con Pollo! MMMM.

I just took a shower, and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com