Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 05, 2014 - 12:41 a.m.
"water damage" or "lunch w alec and john"

Hey Journal!

What a disaster today was! I am so exhausted, I can barely keep my eyes open!

It all started at 9am when I was sleeping peacefully. Dan's mom came running down to the basement and screamed "BRIAN!!" I woke up and she said there was an emergency at work! I got out of bed, dressed, and in the car in less than 5 minutes and Dan's dad and I headed to the golf course.

Everything was drenched in the kitchen and restaurant. When we walked through the front doors, there were deep puddles in the middle of the dining room. The kitchen was flooded and all of the ceiling tiles were all over the floor. It was gross. Then, the basement had water all over and junk that had come out of the pipes in the basement.

Apparently, overnight it was 0 degrees and some of the pipes had frozen, including some of the fire sprinkler pipes. When the chef got in at about 8:00, he turned up the heat and the water started to unfreeze. There were some minor leaks in little pipes leading to sinks in the kitchen, and then all of a sudden, one by one, eight fire sprinklers in the kitchen went off and just rained down torrential amounts of water!

The chef finally was able to stop it by turning off the water in the basement, but the damage was done, everything was a total disaster.

Later, I watched the video, and it's really a sight to see as this all goes crazy in the kitchen!

We had two major projects. 1) We had a wedding planned for 140 people this evening, and it had to be cancelled. 2) We needed all of this cleaned up as soon as possible.

Jackie was working on calling every catering hall she could think of to find a new place for the wedding. I looked up some water damage repair people and started calling. I literally just searched on Google and found about 6 different numbers. I called three. The first two didn't answer (even though their websites said they were available for emergencies 24/7!) The last one answered, and said they would be right over!

The man arrived about 45 minutes later and he assessed the damage. I think he's the owner of the company. He wrote up a report, and then within an hour after that trucks started arriving with big machines and lots of workers! They brought in big vacuums to clean up the water and then giant fans and dehumidifiers to dry everything up!

On the other front, Jackie found an opening at a catering hall in Carle Place and they agreed to do the wedding for the exact same price! The only catch was that they couldn't do it at 4:30 (as originally scheduled) they had to do it at 8:30!!

Luckily, they agreed, and everything was good. Jackie went to make sure that everything went smoothly, and although I haven't heard the final report, I think it was smooth!

At about 1:00, Dan came to pick me up and we went out to lunch with Alec. We had planned to go at 12:30, but did 1:30 instead because of all the craziness. John was visiting Alec, so he came too! We lucked out because John is leaving tomorrow to go home, and I'm glad we got to see him while he was here!

We went Buffalo Wild Wings. It was good. I got the Parmesan Chicken Flatbread. It was very spicy, so I was happy. I haven't gotten the Naked Tenders in a while... I need to decide if I want to go back to those next time!

After lunch, we were going to go to 16 Handles to get FroYo, but Alec didn't have any money on his rewards card, so he decided not to get anything.... so nobody else did, and we dropped them off!

Dan and I headed back to the golf course and got there around 4. The cleaning people were all scurrying around and they were working on the basement. They had to cut the bottom of the walls off because of the water damage.

This operation is really something crazy. It started with the man who came to assess everything and then truckloads of people came with tons of equipment and just started swarming the place and working like worker bees and getting everything done. Oh, and then there's one of the most amazing things about these workers....almost all of them are about 4 feet tall! It's like an army of Oompa Loompas! They're all so efficient and have been doing an amazing job.

We're really lucky because I literally just called random phone numbers I found online. We could just as easily have found a completely incompetent company.

At 6:00, Jackie left for the wedding, as I mentioned before, and then I was all alone here until 9pm while they finished their work for the night. They left the fans and dehumidifiers on to keep drying things out.

Dan left around 7 and went home to get ready for curling and to get my curling supplies. Then he went to pick up Re at her apartment, and they met me back here at 9.

We shut off the water to the building and then headed on our way to curling!

On the way there, we stopped at Wendy's because I hadn't eaten anything since lunch. I got some spicy nuggs and a chicken sandwich. I scarfed it down as we headed to curling. We got there at a good time tonight... usually we get there way too early. I think we may actually be able to come about 10 minutes later and still be good next week!

The team we played today was undefeated and they had two players who were like pros and one sub who was also a pro. It was ridiculous. We lost, sadly.

We left curling around 12:30 and headed home. We had wanted to go to broomstacking but because I was so tired and need to get up early for work tomorrow, we skipped it this week. My mom was also going to come watch us this week, but she got sick and couldn't come.

We got home around 1, I took a shower, and now it's time for bed! Tomorrow I have to be at work at 9! Another fun day of cleanup... and Dan's parents are leaving at 9am tomorrow to go to Florida for 6 WEEKS! Insaneeeeeee!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com