Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 18, 2014 - 1:16 a.m.
"corner on flax, wheat, barley, oats, corn, and rye"

Hey Journal!

Happy Friday!! We had a pretty late night tonight.... a wild game night!

This morning I had planned to to the bank before work but I decided to go to work first instead because Mike was coming in to do some more repair work and to put a special antenna on the room so that I can -hopefully- get an internet connection down at the maintenance building! I wanted to see him and ask him a couple of questions, so I stopped there first.

After that, I went out to the bank, made a deposit, and then went to Home Depot to get MORE thermostats. I found three unopened boxes and now we have all the ones we need. When I got back to work, I installed the first one in the beverage room in the basement and then attempted the to put the second one in the bag room. When it was all installed, I put it on, and it didn't work! I was so confused.... It wasn't getting any power at all! Ugh! So, I went down to the actual heating unit and much to my surprise, the unit was completely turned off!! I guess when they came in the other day to run the wire, they had to turn it off, and never put it back on! That's ridiculous because if it had been really cold, it would have been a problem that we HAD NO HEAT from that machine! Oh, well... I turned it back on, and we were in business! :) (You know, come to think of it now, that's actually a good feature..... If the heating unit gets turned off for any reason, it'll cut power to the thermostat, and that will alert me to a problem, too!)

Anyway, the antenna was installed on the roof and it's not quite as high as I had planned, but hopefully that won't be a problem. I am a little annoyed that they ran the cable down in a weird way. I wanted it to follow the path of an old coax cable we had installed in like 2004, but Mike didn't do that, and he just draped it down the side of the building, instead.

I spent a while in the afternoon testing the auto billing program I had finished last night. It was successful, and I only located one bug that needed to be fixed. It was super easy to fix, too... I had just named one variable incorrectly. After I knew the system was working, I set up a way to enter the data into the system and then integrated with the current dues billing program! Wahoo!

I finally got all of the invoices we needed from all of the people who worked on stuff related to the water damage and I sent them over to the insurance guy! We have a really high deductible, so we may not get too much back, but we can hope!

I left work at 4:45 and headed home. When I got back, Dan and I got ready to go out to dinner to Cheesecake Factory with Lau, Ryan, and Julio!

We met there at 6:00 and Julio had already put our name down. We got our table at about 6:05 and were still waiting for Lau and Ryan. I got the Chicken and Biscuits for dinner, which I was happy to see had returned to the menu, however, I was very much unhappy with the -new- recipe. It tastes nothing like the old one and it's really kinda gross. The chicken was weird, the gravy was weird, and I know I won't be getting that again anytime soon. The old one was so much better, it tasted SO great!

Halfway through our dinner, Julio realized that he knew the waiter, and that they had been nextdoor neighbors a long time ago. He thought it may have been awkward to say Hi having not even realized it was him until that point, so he just ignored it the rest of the time.

After dinner, Julio headed home, and we headed back for a game night with Lau, Ryan, Jen B, and Amanda. The first game we played was one that Lau and Ryan brought called "Oddly Obvious!" You had to read phrases off of a card with a bunch of words written on the front. Then, everyone else had to read the front of the card and pick out which word you were describing. Amanda was really good at this game, and won both rounds that we played.

The next game we played was Sequence! I haven't played this game in soooo long! It's really fun. We played a few rounds and I think everyone won once!

After that, we took a little break and listened to some music and made some Chicken Parmesan pocket appetizer things. They came out pretty good, but they were so hot and when you would bite into them hot stuff would spray out!

The music was pretty good, all of the songs that randomly played from my phone were good sing-along songs and we were all having a great time! :)

Finally, we introduced Lau and Ryan to Pit!! What a great game! The last few times we played, I hadn't done very well, but tonight I was on FIRE! I kept winning round after round! It was great! Corner on Wheat! Corner on Barley! Wahoo! In the first game we played 14 rounds and I won 8 of them! We played another game after that, and Dan won this one!

We all had a really fun time, and it was a great night! Unfortunately, Re couldn't make it because she was going out to dinner with some friends from work. She was supposed to come afterwards, but it went later than expected, so she just went home after.

Alas, now it's time for bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com