Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 22, 2014 - 10:56 p.m.
"snow day" or "best Target ever"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up around 8:30 and had to make the call about whether or not the golf course would be open today. We looked outside and there was a lot of snow, and I figured it would take a couple of hours to dig out. Dan got word from Canon that they would be closed, and so I figured we should be closed as well.

My reasoning was this.... Even if we all got to work today, most businesses nearby would either be closed or have a delayed opening. If they were closed, obviously nobody would be coming to us on their lunch breaks, and if they had a delayed opening, a lot of people probably wouldn't go out because either a) it was cold out, b) the roads weren't great, or c) they had a lot of work to get done in a shortened amount of time. With that in mind, the only people who would be on hourly payroll would be a cook, a dishwasher, and two waitresses. The payroll for that would be a over $200, which means we'd have to sell well over $200 worth of food to cover the payroll and the cost of the food! If everyone who came in averaged $20 per meal (which is high) we'd have to have over 10 people to break even for the day... which I totally didn't think we would get.

Anyway, we were closed, and it was a SNOW DAY! Dan and I watched Live! and then got the shoveling started.

Once we were cleared out, we went out to Panera for lunch. We used an old gift card that we had, and I got a cookie from Dan's free birthday pastry reward! The lady who rang us up was really wild. She was good... nice... but seemed like a total lunatic!

After we were done, we wanted to go to Target. We had to return the TurboTax we had purchased last week because we found it for $10 cheaper at Price Club. We also wanted to peruse the goods. We decided to take a little drive and go to the NEW Target in Huntington! I had wanted to go for a while.

When we pulled up, I was AMAZED. I loved it already. It looks really cool from the outside, and a major point of amazingness is that they have the really cool new plastic shopping carts! They are sooooo much better than the crappy metal ones! I really want our stores to get them!

But the greatness didn't end there... this was possibly the largest Target I've ever been in! It was humongous. I feel like they had a better selection of stuff and SO MUCH STUFF ON CLEARANCE! I got my Ham boxer briefs, which were $4.18 in Commack for $2.98 plus an extra 30% off with Cartwheel! We found a lot of great Cartwheel deals, too.

I wish this store was closer because I'd never go anywhere else! It's so amazing.

When we got home, we watched some TV and just hung out. I watched some old episodes of The Middle, and I realized that there are a few I've never seen. We started watching in the middle of Season 1 Episode 5. So, I watched Episode 5 in its entirety. Later we watched episode 3, which I had also never seen. Then episode 4 was on, and it turns out I had seen it already... probably when they had a repeat on. I still don't think I've seen episode 1 or 2... but they aren't scheduled to be on anytime soon. :

Around 7:00, we left to go out to dinner at Red Lobster! When we pulled up, the large sign out front was spazzing out, and the Lob of Lobster were blinking wildly! I made a good Vine of it! It was great!

We had an annoying waiter tonight. He had no personality and seemed like an asshole. I dunno, I wasn't a fan. Usually we have really good experiences with the servers there... I've loved the waitresses we've had before... so this was disappointing. I got my favorite pork chops! Unfortunately, when they came, they had sauce on them... I had ordered them plain!

On Black Friday, I had ordered a $100 Red Lobster gift certificate and as a bonus I got a coupon for $25 off any two entrees! What a GREAT coupon! I was super excited to use it. Our annoying waiter told us that it wasn't good on the meals we had ordered because Dan's meal didn't count as an Entree... ??? We didn't understand. We spoke to the manager, and he said the waiter was wrong and was probably thinking about a different promotion.

Anyway, the food was really good, and you can't beat a $25 off coupon! WHAM! :)

When we got home, we watched tonight's episode of The Middle. It's wild how much Brick has grown up since the first season!

Now it's time for bed, and we're off to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com