Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 10, 2014 - 10:41 p.m.
"last place curlers? that's us!"

Hey Journal!

When it was time to get up for work this morning I was sooooo tired! It was insane! I could barely bring myself to get out of bed. I think this started when we moved in here, and although I've never been a morning person, being in the basement makes it so easy to hibernate, and makes it harder for me to break away from my dreams!

I got to work around 9:15 and Mike had come in over the weekend and left the box of motion sensor switches on my desk because, as it turns out, we DID need special ones for the basement. The building has 277 volt light fixtures (who knew) and so I needed to get 277 volt switches!

It was cold in the office.... and I was a little confused. The heat had been working really well, and I noticed that the furnace wasn't going on properly. Even though the thermostat was set correctly, the unit would turn on and the motor would run, but no heat would come out! Ugh!

I called the repair guys, and they said they'd be over in about an hour.

Kyle and Reese were upstairs painting in the restaurant, and while I was waiting for the guy to come, I ran out to take care of a few things I needed to do.

First, I went over to the cemetery and dropped off some paperwork I had been holding on to for a while. Then, I went to Home Depot to get the correct light switches!

A little while after I got back, the AC people showed up and went to work diagnosing our problem. It turns out, ice had formed over the exhaust vent that's on the roof and the system couldn't function without that! Safety feature! They had to get the ice to melt, and then everything was back in business!

I worked on random stuff the rest of the day, and Steve spent some time going though more random boxes in his office.

Last night, I had ordered our curling hoodies and today I got work from the printing company that they weren't going to print our shirt because the image of the curling stone that appeared on the shirt was found elsewhere on the web. It's true, we did find the clipart online, and so I can totally understand that. As an alternative... I opened Inkscape and drew my own curling stone. I made it out of some shapes... two rounded rectangle, one regular rectangle, and a two white lines. To be honest, I think it came out nicer than the original!

I resubmitted it, but they still rejected it, saying it was too similar to the original! I called them up and really made my case. The woman said the curling stone looked like the other one. I told her that a curling stone is a curling stone, and you can't copyright the shape of it. It's just an outline of the shape! It would be like me drawing a basketball, and someone else drawing a basketball. They are bound it look PRETTY similar, and especially since it's just an OUTLINE! Meanwhile, mine was pretty different. The handle shape was different, and I added lines across the middle to make the shape more defined. The decided to let the stone pass approval, but then they complained about the MOTION LINES behind the stone. In the original picture, there were about 5 lines that were long parallelograms. Mine were completely different... they were lines with pointed ends.

Again, I had to explain that motion lines are not copyrightable and are a very common way to depict movement of an item.

FINALLY I got approval! Wahoo!

For lunch, I had cereal. It was a pretty quiet day. Steve left around 3:00, and I stayed until about 4:30.

On the way home, I stopped at Home Depot in Commack because I needed two more of those motion switches. The bought the last 6 at the Farmingdale one, and then got two more here.

When Dan got home, he shoveled some snow. While he was doing that, I went on the treadmill.

-Gym- Report:
1 mile on the Treadmill in 11mins
1 mile on the Treadmill in 13mins

When I got off, Dan got on, and I went in the shower.

Tonight, we've been watching the Olympics and we have to clean up because the stupid good-for-nothing cleaning lady is coming tomorrow.

We watched the US Curling team vs. Norway! They said that in Vancouver, the US curling team came in dead last! LAST!? WE could have done better than THAT! What an embarrassment!

Now we're just gonna watch a little Judge Judy and then head to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com