Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 26, 2014 - 11:05 p.m.
"my morning in philadelphia"

Hey Journal!

Today has been such a crazy day! I got up before the crack of dawn and did so much this morning, then came home and slept, and then got up again, and I'm all confused!

My alarm went off at 4:20 this morning and after a couple of seconds of not knowing what was going on, I managed to get out of bed, turn off the alarm, and got ready to go pick up my Grandma and Grandpa. My Grandpa had to go to a special eye doctor in Philadelphia and this was the third attempt to take him! We had planned to go in the past, but for one reason or another it always got cancelled!

In fact, it almost got cancelled today because my Grandma was afraid the snow was going to cause a problem!

Anyway, I got dressed and headed out at about 4:40 and I arrived there a little before 5. By the time they were in the car and ready to go, it was about 5:05. We went in my Grandma's car and I drove... that was the whole point. We made really good time in the morning and I only made one mistake... I got onto the Southern State instead of the Belt Parkway! Woops! I just turned around and it took about 2 minutes.

It never snowed or anything on the way there until we were just getting to Philadelphia, but even then, the roads were fine. When we got to the parking garage, we parked and then found our way to the office. We had to take the elevator down to the lobby and then take another elevator up to the office on the 14th floor. I remembered it from the last time we were there, but my Grandma was sure that we were in the wrong place! We weren't, though.

When we got to the office, my Grandma got my Grandpa checked in and then we sat down for a bit in the waiting room! My Grandma asked me to go downstairs and get a bagel and coffee for her from the cart in the lobby. I brought it back and then I set out to explore Philadelphia.

It was about 8:30 when I really wanted to see Independence Hall. Last time we went, I saw the Liberty Bell and I got a ticket for the tour of Independence Hall but as the time on my ticket was approaching, my Grandma called to say they were ready to go home! Boo!

This time, the appointment was much quicker than last time... but it all wound up working out well. Before heading over for the tour, I got breakfast at McDonald's. I ate it there, and then headed over for the 9am tour. I was early, and I walked around for a bit. It started snowing harder now, still not sticking to the roads, but it was windy.

At exactly 9:00, they let me in and I was the first person of the day.... and for a while... the only person of the day. The first tour of the actual room where the Declaration of Independence was signed was at 9:15 and so I went another exhibit while I waited. I was the only one there and the guy gave me a little personal description of everything they had on display. He also asked me if I was in the army, and when I told him that I wasn't... he said... "oh....you have that look."

At 9:15, I went over for the tour and luckily some more people had arrived. There were about 5 of us total. The guy gave us the history of the two rooms, and it was pretty cool.

I kept checking my phone to make sure my Grandma hadn't called, and when the tour was over I decided to take a walk to the Liberty Bell.... but as I went, my phone rang and it was time to head back!

It really was fast today... probably because the appointment was earlier this time and they weren't as behind.

Anyway, I got back to the office and we headed to the car. We hit the road and the snow was coming down pretty heavily. It still wasn't sticking, so we had no problem there.

We made excellent time on the way home, too. The only weird thing that happened is that, on the Jersey Turnpike, it was nice and sunny out, blue sky, and then ALL OF A SUDDEN it was as if we had driven through a wall.... the was grey and cloudy and hailing! It was so strange!! I could barely see in front of me, and everyone was going so slow! It lasted about 5 minutes or so, and then it was back to being sunny again! Weird!

The only complaint I had was that after the trip, my arms were soooooo tired!! My Grandpa is really crazy about people having their hands exactly at 10 & 2 or 9 & 3 when driving, so if I were to have put my hands on the bottom of the steering wheel or rested my elbow on the door handle, he would have said something. Knowing that, I kept them exactly where he wanted the entire time, and halfway home they were starting to get numb!! I had to keep wiggling my fingers to keep them from feeling weird! Then, I looked over and noticed that my Grandpa had nodded off! I was so excited... I put my hands down for a minute, and relaxed!! I had literally about 1 minute and then the GPS announced that I had to keep left in 1 mile, and the voice woke him up! I quickly snapped back to the position, and my rest was over!

My Grandma wanted to stop to have lunch at the Milleridge Inn on the way home. We stopped, and it was... a very interesting place. I've been there before for Christmas parties for the Golf Course, but this was my first time eating a regular meal there. It's kinda weird because it's really like a catered wedding meal. Also, I was the youngest person there by far! The next youngest person after me was probably about 60, and the average age of the room had to be at least 80! In fact, as we were coming in, the Sunrise Assisted Living bus pulled up and dropped off some more patrons! It was something else.

I got the pot roast. It was okay, but it was really an experience.

After lunch, we continued home, and after I dropped them off, I was EXHAUSTED. I came home and watched a little TV before taking a nap. I fell asleep around 4:30 and didn't wake up until 8:30!

I'm not surprised really... because on a normal day I wake up at 8:30am. Today, I woke up at 4:30am, and then slept from 4:30pm to 8:30pm. So I got the same amount of sleep... just later!

When I got up, we went upstairs to sing Happy Birthday to Dan. Since they were away for his birthday, his mom made him a cake tonight.

Then Dan and I watched a little TV.... and we forgot to watch tonight's episode of the The Middle.

Now, believe it or not, I'm still tired so we're gonna get to bed so I can get a full night's sleep before I have to get up for work again!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com