Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 13, 2014 - 10:39 p.m.
"worst storm yet" or "most productive day ever"

Hey Journal!

Well, when I went to bed last night the forecast was calling for about 3 inches of snow by about 6am and then rain which would pretty much wash it all away. That's not quite how it happened.

I got up for work at 8:00 and looked outside. There was almost a foot of snow already and the flakes were still coming down! They looked like big cotton balls!

We decided to close the restaurant today, and II planned to wait home until the rain started and then go to work to get some stuff done. Dan went outside and started to clean off his car because his work had a delayed opening.

Finally, around 10:00, the rain started, and a plow came down the street. Before that, it hadn't been plowed at all. Dan got out then, but got stuck at the end of the street! He needed someone to push him out!

I decided just to stay home. I figured there wouldn't be anything I could do at work that I couldn't do at home today. Instead, I kept my e-mail open, and worked on a special project that I had been planning to do for a while. I wanted to make a kiosk for the members to use to pay their Dues without having to come downstairs to the office.

It needed to be really user friendly and look snazzy, too! Basically, from 10:00 until 5:00, that's all I did. I worked REALLY hard on it, and I am almost completely finished. I would say that I'm 95% done, and I'll try to get the rest done sometime next week. It came out super-nice. I am really impressed with it, and I feel really accomplished. (Sorry to be so weird, but I really feel good about it.)

I can't wait to bring it to work to show Steve, and I can't wait to put it out for the members to use. I hope it works as well as I have planned.

Anyway, it was great to have a day like today to work on it, because at work there's just too much commotion to get into the concentration I need for that kinda programming, and it was something I really wanted to do... so it was a win win snowday! I got to stay in my pajamas, and the golf course got a great piece of software! BAM!

Dan got out of work early and arrived home around 4:00.

At about 5:45, I got a call from Central Station to say that the alarm had gone off at the golf course. I then got another call a few minutes later that there was now motion in the building. UGH! Dan and I got dressed and headed up.

We met the police there and they went inside and found that the back door wasn't locked properly and there were no wet footprints inside. What apparently happened was the lock broke and didn't latch properly. Then, the wind came and made the door open just a little bit... enough to set off the alarm. THEN, the police went inside and set the alarm off again.

Oh well. False alarm! Dan and I fixed the lock... we needed to attack it with a knife.

Then we left and went to Panera for dinner. I brought our gift cards and was super excited because their website said they had Cream of Chicken and WILD RICE! Wahoo! Or not. When we arrived, Dan placed his order and then I began to place mine. Sadly, the told me they were out of my favorite soup. When I changed my order to plain old Chicken Noodle Soup.... I was again rejected. No more chicken soup.

We cancelled our order and left. We went to Boston Market instead. Now, I'm pretty annoyed because they said they were OUT of the soup... which makes no sense because today was definitely not a busy day and all the soups were sold out... so one of two things happened....

Either A) it was a slow day because of the snow so they just decided to make two less soups OR B) they actually didn't have any of the soup on hand today. Either way, that's ridiculous!

Whatever... our Boston Market meal came to less money than our Panera would have and we got more food, I'm sure.

When we got home, we watched the news and then I took a shower.

We watched some Judge Judy and now it's time for bed!

Oh, and I forgot to mention... we're supposed to get another 4-8 inches of snow overnight. No big deal.

UGH! So sick of snow... It's so not the kind of winter I ever want to see again.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com