Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 02, 2014 - 1:45 a.m.
"open house volunteers"

Hey Journal!

Today was our Curling Open House and I was a little nervous about volunteering for it, but it turned out to be really really fun! We had to get there at 6:00 to prepare for it to start at 7. It was run very differently than the one that we had gone to a year ago, and there were stations for each person to go to.

When we arrived, Ruth showed us the spreadsheet with our job assignments and Dan was assigned to the "Happy Birthday" room where they gave a little talk about what they would be doing once they got on the ice, and I was assigned to show people how to use the teflon pads before they got to the first station. There were three of us with that job and we were originally planning to alternate and bring people in after they had finished with their talk. It didn't really work out like that, and I wound up going out to the lobby and basically being the gatekeeper. I stood at the door and got the next group to line up before going in to the arena!

At first, they were going slowly inside and things were getting backed up... but Ruth assigned Frankenstein to ring a cowbell every five minutes to signal the station change, and from then on it ran very well!

I really enjoyed standing at the door and getting to talk to some of the people before they came in. It was fun. Everyone was soooo excited to be trying curling. They were all saying how much fun they were having... and they hadn't even gotten out on the ice yet!

The time went by quickly.... It ran from 7:00 to about 9:30. The last group went out on the ice around 9:15 but they didn't finish until almost 10. That meant that the regular league play didn't start on time... but luckily we weren't playing this week.

I told Ruth I want the same job the next time we do it, and she said okay!

There was only one group of people who really pissed me off.... It was some guy who walked past me, went out into the rink, and then expected to get on the ice. The only problem with his plan was that I didn't send out a group of 10 people...so the people at the next station knew it didn't make sense, and I watched as they just kinda ignored him. He waved for his friends to come out, but they didn't. He came back inside and then when I called the next group, he and his friends lagged back. Then, after 8 people had come in, they were next and had a group of four! They were all mad because they had to wait 5 more minutes. Whatever, assholes! lol

Other than that, all the people were really nice and like I said, they were so happy to be there. It was packed, and pretty insane!

After the open house was over, Dan subbed for a team that needed a player and Linda came by and picked me up to hang out!

We didn't know what we should do, but we decided to go to Friendly's. I wasn't really hungry, but I wound up getting a grilled cheese and a conehead! mmm! I filled her in on all the excitement of the open house and stuff.

Linda dropped me back off at the arena around 11:40 and the league was still finishing up. They played until about 12:10 today because they had gotten a little bit of a late start. While I was waiting for Dan to get finished, I hung out in the lobby with Ruth. I talked to her about the open house, what I liked about it, and some ideas for next time. I found out that the ice costs about $450 an hour, and then we tried to figure out a place where we could have refreshments for the volunteers next time. I poked my head around and found a room at the end of the hall. I showed Ruth, and she's going to try to use that room next time! Wahoo!

I'm glad I got to spend some time talking to Ruth... she's really nice, and works really hard for the club. She's definitely "clipboard," but it's in a good way... the way Lau is clipboard!

When Dan was finished, we hung out a little while longer and then headed home!

I'm pretty exhausted after the whole night!

Meanwhile, I forgot to tell you about the rest of the day. We woke up around 11:00 this morning and I was happy to be able to sleep nice and late.

We watched last night's Shark Tank and then hung around for a bit before going to the gym.

Gym Report:
30 Crunches at 50lbs
2 miles on the Treadmill in 30mins
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins

After I was done, I had a little bit of time to kill before Dan was ready. My mom called me to say she was going to the Wine store which is right next to the gym, so I walked over there and met her.

Dan finished up, and then we headed home. We got showered up, and then watched some TV..... a little Brady Bunch!

At about 5:00 we left here and headed towards the arena... We stopped at Panera to get something to eat. I got my usual, and they managed to mess it up again. I don't understand why it's to hard to make a turkey sandwich, PLAIN, with salt and pepper. I just can't figure it out. Sometimes it comes with everything on it.... sometimes it comes with no salt and pepper. ???? Whose fault is it? Is it the person ringing it up or is it the person making it. From looking at the receipts, it seems like it's different each time. They need to get their acts together.

Anyway, when we were done eating, we were ready for the open house. There were about 280 people who came tonight, and next time we're expecting almost 500! It's gonna be WILD! I can't wait!

Now we're off to bed! We're supposed to be getting another monster snowstorm on Monday..... possible 18 inches! As much as I would like a day off from work, I just can't deal with more snow.... I'd just rather go in!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com