Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 25, 2014 - 10:36 p.m.
"club managers meeting"

Hey Journal!

So, today I went on an exciting trip to New Rochelle for a Club Managers meeting. I was really interested in going because they were having two seminars that I thought sounded good. One was on healthcare reform and the other was on club technology.

I got up this morning at 8:45 and I got ready. I put on my nice new shirt and jacket that Dan and I had picked out last night, and I headed off. I had to stop at work before I went because I needed my business cards. I figured people are supposed to have those when they go to meetings like this! On the way, I called and ordered breakfast because I was hungry!

When I arrived, I had my eggs and toast and ate in the restaurant. I quickly grabbed my cards and then I hit the road!

It only took about 50 minutes to get there and I had no traffic at all. As I was crossing the Throgs Neck Bridge, I realized that this was probably the first time I had ever crossed that bridge alone! I really think it must be..... The only place I went by myself was to visit Dan at AU but going there you take the Verrazano. Any time I went to visit friends in college someone else has always been with me.... Marist, Cortland, Binghamton.... I've never gone alone! Of course... It's really not that big of a deal... but interesting to me.

When I arrived, I parked my car and then had to take a shuttle bus.

The first meeting was really boring and was supposed to be about "Trends in the Industry" but the only advice they gave was to "have a plan." Any time someone brought up something happening at their club, they basically told them to "make a plan for that." It was ridiculous.

That was over a little after 12 and we went for lunch. I had steak with potatoes. There weren't any empty tables so Jackie and I sat with some random weirdo and then the chef came over and sat with us, so we basically pushed him out of his own table. He tried to say a few things, but basically it was just the three of us talking to eachother and he was sitting there totally out of place.

After that, Jackie and the Chef went to the next meeting which was supposed to be about new farming techniques and restaurant things. I wasn't interested in that one, so I spent the time walking around and checking out all the vendors. Jackie said the thing was crappy, too... she said it was basically some lady from a produce company telling you to buy their produce.

I walked around and checked out the vendors and got to work collecting free samples! At first there were a few weird salesmen who kept saying Hi to me by name (because they read it on my nametag) but they said it as if I should know who they were. So annoying. After a few laps around I gave in and started bullshitting with them to get free stuff. If a table had something I wanted, I would go talk to them and basically say crap just to get my item! I got a flyswatter, a toothbrush, a Cablevision bag, and some other fun stuff!

Next we a talk about the new healthcare laws. I was interested in this because I had done a lot of work on it recently. Unfortunately, it wasn't all it was cracked up to be. First, the guy who gave the talk wasn't able to make it because his flight got cancelled, so instead he did it over the phone. So, we just sat there and listened to some guy talk. It was a little weird. He also didn't tell us one thing I didn't already know. I also think that if you didn't have prior knowledge of this stuff, you wouldn't have been able to follow all the stuff he was throwing at you!

Jackie and the Chef were really bored by it.

Immediately following that was a talk on Technology in the industry. Another one I was excited about! Another crappy talk. The guy was some old goat who was talking about things that were relevant about 10 years ago. Talking about wiring with Cat 5 cable and telling people to get Lo Jack on their iPads. What a nut!

One thing I did take away from the days events, however, is something I didn't expect to learn. At one point, I went to the bathroom and I put some toilet paper on the seats before I sat on the bowl. As I was sitting there, I looked down at the floor and noticed it was black and shiny. So shiny, in fact, that I could see my own reflection. I admired myself for a few seconds, and then a man entered the stall next to me. He positioned himself in front of the toilet and started to pull down his pants. At this point, I glanced towards his feet under the stall divider, only to find out that these shiny floors provided a view of much more than my own reflection. It was like a mirror, and I could see his balls. It was really gross, and the lesson learned is that your bathroom floor should never be so shiny that you can see yours, or anyone else's reflection in it!

At the end of the day we went to the cocktail reception and I had a cupcake and then I hit the road home.

I left at 5:30 and took the bus back to the parking lot. Luckily I didn't hit any traffic and make it home in good time.

I got home around 7:00 and Dan was out at the gym. I got showered up and when Dan got back he brought Pizza with him. We ate and then Dan had to spend the rest of the night online doing some baseball thing, and so we didn't get to watch the shows I was looking forward to!

Anyway, now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com