Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 22, 2014 - 11:04 p.m.
"plated for dinner"

Hey Journal!

This morning I headed in to work as usual and the morning was a little weird. Despite being fired yesterday, Kyle came in to work and spent the morning going around the course and talking to the maintenance crew. From what we can tell, he didn't say anything bad, but it was still kinda strange.

After he was done with his farewell tour, he came in to the clubhouse, handed over his keys and cell phone, and signed a couple of papers. Then he was on his way.

I have to say, he didn't seem upset at all, and I thought yesterday that he really didn't want to be here anymore. I think he was relieved that it was over. At first, I thought maybe he couldn't quit because he knew he couldn't give up the money he was making and that by letting Steve make the decision for him, he was kinda getting away with not making the decision himself. Today, however, I have a little bit more information and a little bit of a different view.

After he left, we found out that he had listed his house for sale over 11 days ago and when he came in to the office he was very very curious about his ability to collect unemployment. I think he wanted to go, and he had made the decision to sell his house and get ready. He knew Steve was at the end of his rope and he decided if he pushed all of Steve's buttons he would get fired and still be allowed to collect unemployment. If he had come in and quit, he wouldn't have gotten any unemployment and he also wouldn't have gotten any severance. Once again, he played us. Why am I not surprised?

The morning and early afternoon were insanely busy! So much was going on, and I was just trying to keep up with it all.

For lunch I had the French Dip panini but for some reason they didn't give me the dip part. No Au Jus for me! Oh well... It wasn't really a big deal.

Around 3:00, things slowed down and then I left at 5.

When we got home, we were happy to see that our PLATED box had arrived. We did the free trial of Plated because we had a coupon and only had to pay the $20 for shipping. We ordered Spiced Rubbed Steak with Israeli Cous Cous! When Dan got home we checked out what was inside the box, and then Dan went to the gym.

I watched the news, and then when Dan got home he took a shower and we started cooking!

All of the ingredients were packaged for a meal for two and since we ordered it for four, there was double of everything. I wasn't sure exactly what to expect or exactly how much work would be involved in the process. The recipe included gave very clear instructions but we didn't realize at first that the instructions were written for TWO portions, so we had to double to amounts of water and stuff. We realized that quickly, though, so it wasn't a problem.

I cut the carrots and Dan worked on putting the spices on the steak. Once we were done with that, we had to make the cous cous. The whole process took about an hour and it was very intense. We really had to do a lot of work.

The meals came out really nicely. I was really surprised at how much the finished product looked like the picture. Dan's dad was home but his mom was out....so the three of us ate at the kitchen table. It was very tasty, and I enjoyed it a lot.

Now, having said that... I have to give my overall review of Plated. The first problem is the price. We got four meals for $20 with this special... so that's $5 a meal. Not bad. Regular price is $15 per meal... so if we had to pay $60 for what we got tonight it would totally NOT be worth it... and let me tell you why. First, the portion sizes were incredibly small. Dan and I discussed afterwards and agreed that the meal for four would have been more appropriate for just the two of us. So... for $60 you would get four small portions, have to do all the work to prep the food, cook it, and the clean up all the dishes and pots and pans. For the same (or less) money, four people could go out to dinner somewhere and get bigger portions that you could either eat now, or save for later in the week, have someone serve the food to you, bring you drinks, AND not have to do the dishes when you're done! And that's the fatal flaw in this.

It was actually fun to do the cooking, and having the ingredients portioned out was nice... but if you want to do all the cooking you might as well go to the store and buy your own ingredients because it would be much much cheaper. So... for those reasons, unless the price were to drop dramatically, I don't think we would ever do it again!

After we ate, we watched tonight's Agents of SHIELD! The episode was all over the place, and so much is going on! I have no idea what's happen or how this whole show has been turned upside down on me.... but I LOVE at the same time! I was reading an article about how they had this planned from the very beginning and spent time developing the characters and laying this foundation for the show and then all of a sudden it all exploded into the craziness now! It's wild. I really liked it before, and I love it now. I can't wait for next week's episode!

Next, I took a shower, and now it's getting late and time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com