Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 24, 2014 - 1:23 a.m.
"greetings from montreal"

Hey Journal!

Greetings from MONTREAL!!! What a wild day!

So, let me tell you how our trip went down! Last night, I got to bed really late and the only thing that made it okay was that I knew I didn't have to go to work this morning. I figured I would sleep late and finish getting ready for the trip. Unfortunately, Dan could not allow me that luxury. He woke up at 8:15, and then woke me up to tell me that he had slept through my mom's calls and she couldn't wait anymore, and left. So, he had no ride to work.

I had to get up, get dressed, and take him to work! Now that I was up, I figured I'd go to Target on the way home. I got the shaving cream, some nasal strips, and a couple of other things we needed.

As I was driving, I noticed just how terribly messy Dan's car was. There was crap all over the floors and the cup holders had crusted stuff inside. It was bad...so I went to Touch of Class car wash. I figured it would be nice to set out on our little road trip with the car completely clean!

It took a little longer than I had hoped but it was worth it. This mexican guy named Peter did an amazing job on the inside. I was worried that he would overlook the dust that was all over the dashboard or the crusty stuff in the cup holders, but he got it all! It was great.

Next I went home to get my stuff. I finished putting everything together and brought my stuff out to the car. I left at 11:05 and I stopped on my way to Re's to get gas at Hess. I got to Re at about 11:25 and went inside to help her carry her bags out.

We headed back to Dan, and unfortunately I got off at the wrong exit on the Southern State so we had to go all the way around Republic airport which took a while because people were lined up to see the planes for the air show. Before we knew that, though, we saw one take off right over us! It was insane!

We got to Dan at 12:08... not too bad! We were officially on our way at 12:10! We were worried about any Memorial Day Weekend traffic we might encounter in the city, but luckily there wasn't much. There were only two places where we had a small delay. One was right after crossing the Throgs Neck Bridge, and that probably cost us about 10 minutes. THe second was right after Albany, and that probably cost about 5 mins. Nothing bad at all!

It did rain on and off a lot during the drive...and I really hope it will be nice the rest of the weekend. There are supposed to be scattered showers... but let them go scatter somewhere else!

So, we stopped for lunch at Cracker Barrel and the woman there threw me for a loop. She asked if we wanted lunch or breakfast, and then I had a big decision to make! I was all set to get the Chicken and Dumplings, but I changed my mind and went with the Momma's breakfast with TURKEY SAUSAGE!

The most tedious part of the trip is always that stretch through the Adirondack Park which lasts FOREVER and there's no cell phone service! Re slept through that part, though!

We arrived in Montreal and were at Fred's house at 7:00! We made excellent time!

Fred was "at an activity" and wasn't around yet, so we decided to take a walk around and possibly find somewhere to eat. We wandered around and made our way down to Vieux Montreal and the Old Port. It was a really nice night, not too hot... not too cold! Then we walked around and decided to go to 3 Brasseurs for dinner. We texted Fred to ask if he wanted to go as well, but we thought he said he was going home to get something to eat and would meet us there later.

We switched tables a couple of times (once because we asked to and once because the waiter asked us to!) I got a steak with mashed potatoes! It was very good. I was supposed to get fries, too (instead of vegetables) but that got lost in translation somehow!

While we were eating, Fred arrived!!!! WAHOO!! We were so excited to see Fred and I didn't realize he was coming to meet is there! We finished our dinner and had our drinks and hung out there for a while! It was a lot of fun. Fred was with his friend who lives in the apartment above him and she is originally from France.

At about 11:00, we left the restaurant and headed back to Fred's. We were all getting a little tired, so we opted to just get to sleep instead of going back out.

We watched part of the movie "Prisoners" which I had just watched for the first time on TV last week. It was in French, of course, and Dan was trying to figure out what was going on, and I was giving him the play by play because I remembered it!

We were all getting ready for bed and Re was just about to brush her teeth when Fred came in with "shooters!" There were five different kinds and he said we each had to pick on, starting with the youngest person first and going to the oldest! It was quite random... but super fun!!! MDW14!!

Now we're just getting to sleep and planning to get up at 10am! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com