Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 25, 2014 - 2:30 a.m.
"vice principal fred" or "botanical garden"

Hey Journal!!

I can't believe it's after 2:30! Crazy! We had another fun and exciting FULL day in Montreal!!!

This morning we we got up around 9:00 even though our alarms were set for 10. We got ready to leave, and by the time we were all ready it was a little after 10:00.

For breakfast, we went to Cora! It was really good. I got the "Special Cora" which had eggs, bacon, sausage, and a crepe! The waitress was nice and she and Fred had lots of French conversation. There was a leak in the ceiling behind our table and we joked that it was "maple sugar" and that they converted it into syrup for the pancakes. Fred asked what it really was, and it was "the air climatization system!"

After we were done with breakfast, we walked back to the car and then drove to Fred's school! He's the Vice Principle and so he opened the school and we got to see his office. His office is pretty cool, it's in the administration area and he told us all about what he does. He's responsible for making the teachers' schedules each year among a lot of other things.

We were in his office for a while, and then he gave us a tour of the whole school. The school is really big, and the teachers have soooo many places! First off, they each have their own classrooms, nobody has to share a room. Then, there is a teacher's room where they all have another desk. THEN there is a teacher's locker room with lockers for them to put their coats and belongings! It's insane! Meanwhile, Re says she only has her one desk in her room and she hangs her coat in with the kids' stuff!

Our favorite teach was pronounced Mr. "BAA-JA" He came up in many examples and he instantly became a favorite.

When we left the school we came back to Fred's and Fred switched from jean to shorts and then we went to the Botanical Garden over by the old Olympic stadium! It's so wild to think that the Olympic stadium was so wild back when the games were held and now those things just sit there....some repurposed, but it's like a time machine in a way. I like it.

The Botanical Garden was good....we had our Stony Brook IDs and so we were able to get the student rate!

We checked out all the flowers and walked around, went to the insectarium, and my favorite part was all of the greenhouses at the end. It was a lot of walking!

We came back to Fred's and he got a bottle of wine and then we went to the supermarket and got cheese. (Since I don't like wine and cheese, I got Five Alive and Munchos.) We went the big church on the mountain that Fred had taken us to the first weekend we ever came to Montreal and Fred wanted to find somewhere sneaky to eat. Unfortunately, the church environment asn't the best for that, so we wound up eating in the car! It was quite wild, but amazing.

Afterwards, we came back here and got ready for dinner. We only had about a half hour before we had to get going. Our dinner reservations were at 9:00and we got there right on time! ONOIR!! I was so excited to go back and even though I know I had a good time last time, I was afraid a little!

Sophie was our waitress and she came out and showed us to our table. We had to put our hands on eachothers' shoulders and then she guided us inside and to our table! I know there's no way of knowing for sure but I feel like we were sitting at the same table we sat at the last time we went. It was sooo dark, and I we couldn't see a thing. As soon as we were seated I got worried that I wasn't going to be able to eat my food!

When she brought the bread I, I tried to get the butter on it, and it was quite a mess! I loved it though! It was really interesting. At one point, a giant heavy curtain fell on my head and it was so confusing. I had no idea what was happening...it was like a giant blanket slowly covering my head and I was trying to get Dan's attention to help me!! It started happening to him, too, and then all of a sudden it fell on the floor and disappeared! We still have no idea exactly what happened or why!

For dinner I got the filet mignon and it was extremely hard to eat with my fork and knife! I couldn't find the steak on the plate, and I just abandoned the silverware and went all in with my hands, The steak came with potato wedges and random vegetables, but I didn't have any veggies because they didn't feel like the kind I like!

I did try to use my fork and knife in the end just to see if I actually could, and it turns out I could not. Re got lamb shank, and she said it was really had with the random bone and getting the meat off.

I had the pepper sauce from the steak all over my hands, and despite using some antibacterial gel after, they still smelled like steak all night long! For dessert I got what turned out to be chocolate pudding with a something orange on top. It also had a few pieces of a cracker that tasted like a fortune cookie.

When we left, it was wild walking back into the light and then seeing how much food was on my hands! So gross!

It was really nice out so we took a walk down the street and enjoyed the night. We ran into a bachelorette party going down the street and Fred gave the girl $10. It's crazy this is the second time that's happened to us!

After our walk, we were headed back and I had to pee really bad. Fred wanted to show us something, so we stopped here quickly and I went to the bathroom and then we continued back on our adventure.

He took us to the island where he goes rollerblading and we saw a nice view of the city from across the river. We also drove on the formula 1 track!

Next, we came back to Fred's and it was about 12:34. We put on our bathing suits, Fred poured us some drinks, and we went for a dip in the hot tub! I had a baileys and everyone else had champagne. It felt a little chilly when I first went outside but it was sooo nice in the hot tub! In fact, it was actually not cold at all when we got out!

I have decided that Dan and I need to get a hot tub when we get a house. It just seems necessary.

Now we're all talking showers and getting ready for bed! Tomorrow our plan is to get up around 10 and to have a quick breakfast and head north to visit Fred's "childhood region!"

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com