Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 25, 2014 - 11:38 p.m.
"fred's childhood region"

Hey Journal!

Well, our last full day in Montreal has come to an end! It just flew by, but we had such a fun filled packed day today!

We woke up this morning at 10:00, and even though I had actually woken up around 9 and felt pretty rested, I went back to sleep and got up when everyone else did at 10. We got ready as fast as we could, but it took us a little while.

Our plan was to head north to Fred's "childhood region" and we stopped first at Tim Horton's for breakfast! I got a biscuit with eggs and sausage and jus de pomme. We also got a little box of Timbits! How could we resist?

It took about an hour and 15 mins to get to the area where Fred grew up and he drove us around the town, and showed us the street named for the strongest man in the world. Apparently he's from Quebec, and he's quite a big deal!

We got to Fred's parents house and they didn't know we were coming. We went around the back and said hello to them. They were eating breakfast, so Fred showed us around the property and then we sat outside on the patio with them and talked for a little while.

I was really happy because I was able to understand a lot of what Fred's parents were saying. I feel like after a day of being here it's much easier to pick up on what's being said, and some of my French lessons are coming back to me!

We weren't there very long and when we left Fred showed us a lake nearby and some of the houses there. Next, we went to Chutes Mont a Piene. Dan and I had gone there with Fred two years ago and it was pretty cool. It's kinda expensive to get in...$7.50 a person. So weird. Especially for what it is... it's just a little walk in the woods and a waterfall to look at. At this time of year you can't even go swimming...so it was crazy.

For lunch we went to Chez Gros Loup! They didn't accept credit cards so we had to walk to the bank which was right down the street to get some cash. When we got there, though, Fred realized he didn't have his bank card to take out any money!! Re and I waited there while he and Dan walked back to the car and then returned.

We ate, lunch was okay, but not too filling. I ordered a "sandwich poulet" and expected something like the Wendy's chicken sandwich. Either a fried chicken patty on a hamburger bun or a piece of grilled chicken on a hamburger bun. Not so... It was like... sliced pieces of chicken on plain white bread! I was surprised what I got it. If I had known, I probably would have just gotten the grilled cheese instead!

After we ate we started back towards Montreal! I was sleepy in the car and wound up falling asleep for about 15 or 20 mins. We stopped at Tim Hortons and I got a frozen lemonade, and that woke me right up!

On the way back, I wanted to two one thing for two purposes. I wanted to go Target Canada! Reason one was that IT'S TARGET... IN CANADA... and I needed to see what that looked like! Second, I really wanted to get Five Alive to bring home with me and I was hoping they would have some. We got there just a few minutes before 5 and they closed at 5 so we had to be quick.

They did have Five Alive, but not in a bottle... only in a can. I got the cans, but I am hoping we can find some bottles before we head home. Five Alive is the most amazing drink and the fact that it's not sold in the US anymore is really upsetting.

Anyway, Target Canada was amazing. All of the signs were in French and it was like a wonderland. When it came time to pay I tried to use my RedCard but it was declined. The girl at the register spoke only French and it was very confusing.

When we got back to Fred's, we rested up and watched some TV. Then, at 8:00 Dan and Fred had planned to watch the Rangers/Canadiens game. We watched a little of it and then Re and I went out to walk and then to get some food. We ate Saint Huberts and it was really good... I got a chicken pot pie. I was worried that it would have a weird crust or dark meat chicken, but in fact it was amazing and had white meat. It also came with two scoops of mashed potato which was random but enjoyable.

When we got back, the game wasn't over yet, but it wasn't long. Then we got ready for bed and now we're just getting ready to get to sleep. We have to get up early tomorrow because Fred leaves for work at 7:30 and we're going to say goodbye to him and then finish getting ready, pack up the car, and hit the road! Hopefully there won't be any traffic.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com