Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 27, 2014 - 10:47 p.m.
"awning troubles"

Hey Journal!

This morning I woke up a little before I usually do and for some reason I realized that I had forgotten to set my alarm! Dan was just getting up, too, so I asked him to wake me up at 8:00. Lucky, or else I would have been late!

Work was a little busy this morning because I had some things to go over from my day off on Friday and then the weekend, but after that was all taken care of the rest of the day was pretty easy.

At 2pm, Bill set up a meeting about our payroll with a salesman who used to work for ADP and now works for a different payroll company. I was very skeptical about this, but since Bill had already set up the meeting, I had no choice but to come along for the ride.

For lunch I had the French Dip, and while it's not as good as Blvds used to be, it's all I can have now that they took it off the menu at Blvds.

At 2:00, the payroll guy came and we had a really bizarre meeting. I went into it knowing I didn't want to change anything and I told myself I wasn't going to say anything negative to him, just let it go and listen to what he had to say. Well, he was an absolute mess. I mean, it's a hard position to be in since he sold us all the stuff we currently use and now he's here to tell us that he NOW has something better.... but he has to do it wouldn't saying that he sold us crap in the past and now here's some NEW crap!

He started by telling us how amazing the company is and how different it is from ADP. When Bill started to press him for reason why we should switch, and what he could offer.... He started fumfering around and couldn't think of anything to say. He reached into his bag and pulled out a mini whiteboard and a marker and started drawing on it. He said that some payroll companies are like islands, and he drew an island with a palm tree. Then he said other payroll companies were like boxes, and he drew a box. And then Bill cut him off.

He pressed him again for reason why we should switch... but we never got any, and we finally just ended the meeting awkwardly and sent the guy on his way. What a mess.

After that, we got a delivery of the green duct tape we wanted to use to patch the giant rip in the awning. I went outside and started doing it, and I got the lower portion done. Dan's dad came out and we worked on the middle, and then as we got to the top it all ripped off. It was terrible. We were about to give up, but we decided that tomorrow we will get Gorilla Tape and try it again. If the Gorilla Tape doesn't work, we will have to go to our last resort.... removing the offending section of the awning and having a little skylight! :P

I left at 5 and headed home. Dan went to the gym and I watched World News. For dinner, Dan brought home KFC and we ate and watched Wheel of Fortune. I had Five Alive with my dinner tonight and it was absolutely amazing. I am so mad at myself that I didn't buy more this weekend.... but I just have to be thankful for what I did get... I suppose!

Dan was watching a hockey game upstairs but on the breaks we watched Super Password, and now it's time for bed!

Dan is leaving tomorrow to go to Chicago until Friday.... so he had to pack up and stuff.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com