Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 28, 2014 - 10:33 p.m.
"gorilla tape"

Hey Journal!

Today was a really unusual day at work and it all centered around the awning. Today was one of the days where I sat at my desk the least. I was outside almost all day. I also did some of the weirdest things I've ever done in all the years I worked there.

Today was all about fixing the awning. On my way to work I stopped at Home Depot and got the rolls of Gorilla Tape. When I got in to work, I went to the basement and checked my e-mail and got ready to fix the awning!

The new tape was DEFINITELY stronger, but it still had some trouble sticking to the fabric of the awning. It stuck best on the fringes of the ripped parts and it stuck great to itself, but to the smooth fabric...not so much. That wasn't really a problem, though, because the way we applied it, it touches itself a lot and that's what really holds it together.

I did as much as I could, but the ladder I was using wasn't tall enough. Coincidentally, the painter came today to finish painting the clubhouse, so we borrowed his ladder which was about three feet taller.

The ladder was taller, but it was also really wobbly! It was kinda scary. I don't mind going up on a ladder but it was windy, the awning kept flapping, and I definitely didn't want to go to the top step. Little by little, I worked up to the top, but there was about a two foot gap that I couldn't reach!

For the very top, Dan's dad went up and put the tape on, and then it was all covered. There was only one problem. The top of the awning had really uneven pieces of tape that were all zig-zaggy. I wanted to put on more row of tape on each side, but there was no way to reach the top of the awning.

And that's when I got CREATIVE! I made a contraption to apply the tape! I took a 15 foot long extending duster and I put a piece of tape facing outward, and used a push pin with a string on it to attach it to the top. Then I pulled the tape all the way out, went up the ladder, and lined it up. I pressed it down and then pulled on the string to make the push pin come out! It was amazing!!

It worked perfectly, and then we did it again to put a layer on the other side. The only area that I couldn't reach was the very top, so I made ANOTHER contraption to apply the tape there, using an old piece of wood. I put the tape facing out, with two push pins on each side to hold it in place. I lowered it out the window of the locker room and used the strings to line it up perfectly. I pushed it down, and then pulled the strings to release the push pins! This one was a little harder, but it came out GREAT!

Every time I had to pull the strings to release the pins, the pins would come flying back and hit me in the face! It was ridiculous! I had to close my eyes every time!

I finished up at 5:05 and quickly left work! It looked good when I left, and I really hope it holds, but I have this crazy fear that when I get to work tomorrow it's going to be all ruined! Either the wind will come and rip it apart or the tape will just give up and fall off! Ugh! I really hope not.... First, it took so much work.... Second, it's really our last option before cutting the awning apart, and Third, it actually looks good right now!! I just hope it makes it!

I was really really proud of the two contraptions I made. They really did the trick, and they were so wild. Innovative!

When I got home, I got changed and then my mom came to pick me up for dinner. We went to Branchinelli's. We had this guy for our waiter who was about 20 and who I've never had before. He may have been new... his name was Chris. Dan was shocked when I told him because he said we always have old women or weird old men when we go there.

I got the spaghetti with meatballs (4) .... yes, that's how it's written on the menu! It was good, and I had a little left over that I took home!

Anyway, I watched some TV... World News, took a shower, and got ready for bed.

Now I'm off to watch some Super Password and get to sleep. If I hadn't mentioned already, Dan left this morning to go to Chicago for work. He'll be there until Friday night!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com