Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 01, 2014 - 9:16 p.m.
"smithtown day" or "maleficent"

Hey Journal!

Tonight I'm having a bit of a problem writing this entry because my right hand is not normal! Dan had bad back pain today and while we were at Target, we got some cream to put on it. It worked well on his back and he said that the pain went away, but I used my right hand to put it on his back and now my hand is tingly and spazzing out a little!

Anyway, this morning we got up around 11:00 and I was surprised because I had woken up at around 9:30 and figured I would wait till 10 to get out of bed! Then I fell back to sleep and didn't get up till almost 11!

We wanted to get out since it was a really nice day outside so we ate breakfast quickly. I had cereal, and then Dan turned the TV on while he ate his oatmeal. It was perfect timing because we caught the tail end of a commercial where a guy was sitting in his car, and it had something to do with air conditioning.

I've been having problem with my AC the past few summers... every year I have to bring my car to get the AC refrigerant filled up. Until I do, the air that comes out is warm. Last week when we had a really hot day I tried to use it, and sure enough it was crappy again. Anyway, the commercial was for a product to replenish the refrigerant by yourself! It was really great timing because I was just going to bring my car.

We headed out around 12 and our first stop was Smithtown Day! Every year we go and every year we wonder why since there's never anything all that exciting going on... but still... it's something you just HAVE to do!

We parked at the District Office building and walked up and down Main Street. We got a few free reusable bags... my new favorite giveaway. I also am so confused by places that rent space and then give out only pamphlets. Nobody wants the menu for your restaurant, or your random business card. GIVE US FREE THINGS! If I wanted your menu, I would just go online and look at it. So weird. As always, the booths with the wheels to spin were the most popular.

After we had checked out both sides of the street, and I had gotten my picture with Peppa Pig at the Smithtown Library booth, we headed back to the car.

Next we went to get some mail from my mom and bring some of my winter clothes for safe keeping. We weren't there long... I just helped my Grandma by moving an old TV out to the curb and then we went headed to Commack to go to PepBoys. We found the AC coolant stuff, and it was $45. I was surprised it cost so much. I looked on my phone and found that Home Depot had it for $35... and it's right down the street!

We hopped in the car and got it there. Later, I talked to my mom and she found the receipt for the last time we brought my car to have refrigerant added. It was $120! INSANITY! We spent $35 for what they charge $120 for! It's sick! Those auto people are greedy savages. I don't expect them to sell it at cost, of course they have to make money, but the labor price is egregious! I'll get to it later... but it took me only 10 minutes to do this myself! It would have been less if I had known what I was doing... so you can't tell me that... assuming they paid $35 for the refrigerant also (which I'm sure they don't)... less than 10 minutes of the mechanic's time is worth $85. Unreal! Swindlers!

Anyway, next we went to Target to get some Uncrustables, shaving cream, and the back cream stuff for Dan that I mentioned before.

When we got home, we looked up movie times for Maleficent. I had really wanted to see this movie, so we figured we'd have a fun little movie outing.

We decided to go to the 5:15 show in Deer Park. We got there at 4:15, bought our tickets (and even got free movie posters! BAM!) Then we went to Chipotle to get something to eat.

There was an insanely long line, but we were hungry so we waited. It took about 30 minutes to get our food... I feel like that location is always crazy busy so you'd think they'd staff better. They also only have one cash register where other Chipotles I've been to have had two. They definitely need that because i think that's where most of the bottleneck was happening.

At about 5:00, we headed to the theater and got some seats. There were already a lot of people there at 5, but we were still able to get good seats... right in the middle. Dan went to get us a small popcorn.

The movie was good... I'm not really a fan of Angelina Jolie, but she wasn't offensive or anything in this movie... I thought it was really good, and really well told. I didn't know how they were going to end it, so I feel like I really got into the suspense of what was going to happen! I like how the boy didn't wake her up with his kiss.... I felt like I called that, though. It's like the "Once Upon a Time" thing where Emma breaks the curse with her kiss.

When we got back home from the movie it was still light outside so we did the AC thing in my car. The thing that took the most time was locating the service port for my car. For reference, the 2000 Ford Focus has it located in front of the passenger side tire. It's strange. I attached the pump and turned the car on. It was really low and was going crazy at first, but after putting in half the can, it started working right. We put the full can in, and it was finally up to the correct level.

I felt it when we were done and it was coming out NICE AND COLD! Take that "Vinny's" (where I usually bring my car.) I said it before... but it's highway robbery.

I put the cream on Dan's back before we did the car stuff... and that's why my hand is all weird now. I took a shower and Dan packed for his trip tomorrow.

He's going to San Diego until Friday! Insane! I had wanted to go with him but he said he would be too busy all week with work to do anything and that it would probably be boring. Ah well.... It's gonna be quiet here all week!

Anyway, now we are going to watch Game of Thrones and then get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com