Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 28, 2014 - 11:58 p.m.
"celebrating america fireworks show"

Hey Journal!

Today was a fun and exciting day of 4th of July FIREWORKS in June! It was also a pretty crazy morning beforehand!

I woke up this morning at about 7:00 because the sprinklers went on and I tried desperately to fall back to sleep. I wasn't too successful, and kept waking up intermittently until I decided to get out of bed at 10:00.

Dan and I had breakfast and then we had a couple of things to get straightened out about our contract! I want to get this thing SIGNED already...and it seems like everyone else keeps delaying it. This time, our lawyer crossed out something that he shouldn't have, and now they had to confer about it because the sellers wanted it to be kept in. It should have been kept in, and we agreed to it... so it's really annoying.

When we got out of the house, we went to Home Depot to check out washing machines. It's gonna be one of our first purchases since we don't want to use somebody else's grody old washer and dryers. We saw some possibilities, but one thing I don't like about a lot of the newer models is that the buttons are all touch-- as opposed to real buttons. There may be a couple of LG models with real buttons, so I'm leaning towards that!

Next, we went to Target to peruse the goods and to get some strawberries to bring with us to the 4th of July picnic. While we were there, we saw a GREAT sale on some patio furniture! They had these really nice chairs that I loved.... they were on sale for $22 with an extra 10% off from Cartwheel!! Insane! We wanted to buy 8 of them but we figured we wouldn't be able to fit that many in the car. We got 4, and when we got out to the car.... not even one would fit inside. The legs were too big! UGH!

Dan went back inside and returned them, and then we headed home. Unfortunately, the sale / Cartwheel deal ended today, so we REALLY wanted to get the chairs. When we got home, Dan's dad was just arriving...so we asked if he could help us with them. He had a few things he needed to get done, and we were also in a rush...so we devised a plan.

Dan needed to go to the gym before we left for Linda's... so he went there. II picked up Dan's brother from work which gave Dan's dad time to get the coolers he needed for fishing ready. Then, we met at Target and I got the chairs. We loaded them into the car, and then I went back to buy another 4. (You can only do four at a time on Cartwheel!)

Next, we brought them to the storage facility. Dan's dad helped me carry them upstairs and then he departed. I planned to shuffle some things around, but it was harder than I had imagined. I thought I had enough room, but I was short by about 1 inch and the door wouldn't close. I had to take everything out of the little pathway and push the filing cabinet further in. It wouldn't go back... and I don't know why.... It looked like there was plenty of room behind it.

I eventually managed to squeeze one inch out of it, and I got it closed. It was sooooo hot in there, though... even though it's supposed to be "climate controlled." Controlled to be a sauna!! I was sweating like crazy, and I wasn't feeling very well, either.

When I got done with that, I got home and took a shower. Dan was still at the gym. I got ready to go, and when Dan got home, he got showered and ready as well!

We left here at 4 and Linda was in the city this morning for a brunch. She missed her train and got on another one that was going to Hicksville. We picked her up there and then went to Stop and Shop to get some snacks because she didn't have anything yet!

I used the self-scanner thing for the first time ever! It was wild... and I didn't realize it even had its own coupons, too! Pretty cool.

Next we went to Linda's house and picked up Connor and Cameron. We had planned to get to the fireworks earlier than last year, but by the time we were ready... it was 6:30...which was exactly the same time we arrived last year!

Linda's Dad drove us to the park, and then we scoped out a nice spot. It was pretty much in the same area as last year, too. Luckily, this year the grass wasn't damp!

I feel like this year the time went by much quicker. We had lots of snacks and just hung out on the blanket and had fun. Some random guy came and sat next to us... REALLY close, and I was annoyed by people who kept walking on our blanket. lol

The fireworks started around 9:30 and they were REALLY GOOD! I don't remember if they were this good last year, but the finale was incredible. The whole thing lasted about a half-hour and the finale seemed like just as many fireworks as had been in the whole show up to that point! It was set to Stars and Stripes, Forever....although you could barely hear it over the craziness of all the fireworks!

When it was over we walked back to Linda's house. It was a little bit of a walk, but it was a nice night and it was fun! When we got back, we hung out for a while... talked to Linda's parents, and showed them the house we're buying!

We left at 11:15 and now we're home. I took a shower and we're gonna watch something on TV and then get to sleep!!

Until tomorrow....

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com