Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 20, 2014 - 10:17 p.m.
"walkway over the hudson" or "cold springing"

Hey Journal!

Today was a really fun day because we did some fun, random, spontaneous stuff that I really enjoyed. It was also a beautiful day and we spent some time outside!

So, the plan was to drive my mom and my Grandma upstate to go to one of Aunt Chickie's granddaughters' wedding shower. We were going to drive up in my Grandma's car, but at the last minute she got worried that something was wrong with the car, so we wound up driivng my Aunt Regina as well, and we drove in her car.

She had just gotten the car a couple of months ago, and it was nice and new! It's a Ford Fusion, and I really really liked it. I think when it comes time for me to get a new car... which should be fairly soon, I want a Ford, but maybe just a little smaller than this one.

Anyway, we woke up this morning at 9:30 and got ready to go. My mom told us that they would be arriving at 10:15, but my Aunt got there a little late, so they came at 10:25.

They shuffled seats and Dan and I go in the front, and we headed off for Aunt Chickie's! We made excellent time and didn't hit ANY traffic at all. It was perfect! We stopped for coffee at the Garrison Cafe, and then made our way to the fire department where the party was. We were still about 30 minutes early, but it was all good!

We went inside and said hello to Aunt Chickie, used the bathroom, and then Dan and I headed off to find something fun to do! We wanted to walk across the bridge that goes across the Hudson in Poughkeepsie, so we headed that way. It turns out that it's actually a State Park called Walkway Over the Hudson!

It's really cool, even cooler than I had thought. It was an old railroad bridge that was built in the 1800s and was in use until a fire in 1974. After the fire, it was just abandoned, and then in 2009 they opened it up as a park and people can walk from one side to the other. It's really cool. It was hot out, and the sun was pretty strong, so we only walked out halfway. It's REALLY high up, too.

When we finished there, we went back to Cold Spring and walked down Main Street. The party had started at 1:00, and we dropped them off at 12:30. The part was supposed to end at 5, so we still had plenty of time.

We walked down Main Street and went to some of the many antique stores. They had some cool and weird stuff. We bought a couple of old Ducktales figurines. They were only 25 cents each!

Next, we went for lunch to a place called Hudson Hil's. I checked out the menu and was sure I could find something I liked, but I was really pleasantly surprised that my meal was EXCELLENT! I got the steak and eggs, and the steak was great and had an amazing seasoning on it. The eggs were cooked perfectly, and the hash browns were good, too. I loved it. It was an excellent lunch!

When we were done, we headed down by the river and stopped at a couple more antique stores on the way.

We got back to the fire department at about 4:30 and everything was wrapping up. We said goodbye to Aunt Chickie and then used the bathroom before we hit the road. We were on our way at 4:47!

Our trip home was good, too. We were on our way down the Taconic Parkway and JUST started to hit a little traffic, but we diverted to the Pelham Parkway and avoided it all. The Whitestone Bridge had less traffic than the George Washington, so we went over that, and we made it home in excellent time.

On the way back we passed by our new house to show my Aunt and then we dropped ourselves off at Dan's parents' house and now here we are!

Dan and I went out to Target because we were hungry, and what would a weekend be without a trip to Target. I got a personal pan pizza and Dan got a frozen pizza to make at home.

When we got home we watched Scandal and now it's time for bed! We're going to try to squeeze in last week's Teen Wolf before bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com