Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 19, 2014 - 1:00 a.m.
"survey madness" or "david cook"

Hey Journal!

What a crazy day I've had today! I did a whole bunch of things that I didn't even know I would do when I got up this morning!

Tonight I'm gonna do things a little backwards, and before I get into all the crazy stuff from the morning, let me tell you about my evening.

Dan and I got home from work at almost the exact same time. We hurried inside and got ready to go out to a free concert with Lau and Ryan. A few weeks ago, Lau had told us that for her birthday celebration she wanted to go to a park in Oyster Bay for a free David Cook concert. I don't know if I had originally known it was David Cook... but this morning I didn't know or didn't remember.

Anyway, I wouldn't consider myself to be a David Cook fan, and to be honest, whenever his songs come on my iPod in the car, I always skip them.... so I didn't really know what to expect!

Since we were both hungry and hadn't had a chance to eat before leaving the house, we stopped at All American Burger which was right down the road from the park. I haven't been there in a looooooooong time! I remember going one rainy summer day with Allie back in.... I guess it was either 2002 or 2003. (I just looked it up, and it was March 29, 2003... and yes, I was right about it being a rainy day!)

Anyway, I really like that place. The food is really reasonably priced! I got two hamburgers and Dan got two cheeseburgers and we shared a large fries. When we were done, we couldn't pass up the milkshakes which were only 2.08 each! I loved it. They were great, and the best thing was, they were reasonably priced. Like, I don't think I'd pay more for them, but they were absolutely worth the 2.08!

We ate pretty quickly and then we headed over to the park to meet up with Lau and Ryan! They had arrived around 5:00 to get a good seat! The concert was outside in the park and people brought lawn chairs and blankets to set up their little areas. It was actually a pretty cool set-up. Lau and Ryan had staked out an area that wasn't too far from the stage.

On the way in, we got a program as well as free sunglasses from Geico and a free cup holder thing from News 12! We found Lau and Ryan, and we waited for the show to begin!

While we were waiting, I got a call from a Surveyor who I had called earlier (this will all make sense after you ready about my day at work) and I made arrangements for him to do his work tomorrow evening and have everything I need delivered to us on Monday! Amazing!

Anyway,the concert started at 8 and it was pretty cool! Like I said, I wasn't so sure what to expect, especially since I wouldn't consider myself a David Cook fan, but he played the songs that are always on the radio, and I even liked a couple that I had never heard before!

He seemed like a really nice guy, and it was cool to see him perform "under the stars," which, coincidentally, is the name of the concert series at the park!

When it was over, around 11:00, we went to Friendly's! I got a grilled cheese and soup and Dan and Ryan split something. Everyone else got ice cream for dessert, but I felt like the shake I had gotten earlier had satisfied me.

We got home a little while ago and watched some more Scandal! We're almost done with Season 2.

Anyway, now let's go back to my DAY. In the morning, I got up and headed off to work, and the day turned out to be anything but usual. It all focused on the house, and here's why. As I may have mentioned, a few days ago, it was sprung on us that we needed a survey to submit to our title insurance company. Through our agent, we were able to get a copy of the survey that the sellers had, but it was from 1962. They required a new one, so we had to get one.

Our lawyer's secretary is slow as molasses and so we took on the job of finding something. The lawyer's office said it would take about 2 weeks if they ordered it. They said everyone was "backed up." Last night, we asked Mike from work to see if he had any contacts that might be able to help... but he reported back that they would need 2 to 3 weeks as well. He confirmed the "backed up" story!

I then set out on a mission to find a surveyor who could do the job QUICKLY! We got three referrals from our real estate agent and one guy called back to say he was out of the business, but gave me two referrals himself. We also got two names from Dan's parents' friend, Claire, who works at an architecture firm. I called every surveyor I could find in the yellow pages online, and I called every surveyor on a list of the association of civil engineers in the area.

Some phones just rang and rang, most went to voicemail, and I got a few direct answers. The ones who answered all said they needed 2-3 weeks. It was the same story. I left messages with the others, and then the calls started coming back in. All day long I was getting calls, and one after another, nobody was available for my timeframe.

Then, just before I left work, I got a call from one of Claire's guys. He said he could do it by next Friday. A week from today! That sounded excellent, so I tried to confirm with him. As I was leaving work and walking to my car, I got another call from a man who said I sounded "desperate." As a result, he would bump us to the top of his list, do the surveying tomorrow, and have the report to us on Monday! He sounded really nice on the phone. His fee was $50 more than the quotes I was able to get out of some of the other people who had called me back, but time is money and that was the price I was willing to pay for it.

I confirmed with him, and he said he needed to check just one thing before he could commit. He said he had the county maps and he needed to make sure it showed exactly what he needed. That's why he called me back later when we were at the park with Lau and Ryan, and we're on for tomorrow evening! YES!!!

One more hurdle cleaned, and hopefully we can move to closing SOON!!!!!

Alas, now it's time for bed. Gotta rest up for the big curling picnic!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com