Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 30, 2014 - 10:09 p.m.
"calculating overtime"

Hey Journal!

Today I was hoping for a nice, quiet morning at work, but it didn't turn out that way. In fact, the whole day was pretty crazy and really busy!

I got up and headed off to work as usual and when I got in, it seemed like it may be a relaxing day. I got a couple of things done, and then the payroll was delivered. I was casually looking over it and stumbled upon an error in one employee's overtime. It made no sense to me, so I had to really dig deep to find out what the problem was.

It turns out that, buried somewhere deep in the timeclock code, there was a line that calculated how many different rates of pay a person had each week. Unfortunately, that line was in the wrong spot, so 99% of the time it worked perfectly, but there was a chance that, depending on when that extra shift was worked, it may not get picked up....

I went back to all the previous payrolls, and this has never happened before, so I just happened to stumble on it the first and only time (which is great.) Anyway, I corrected the error, but not before noon. It took so long because the timeclock program is so complex I had to get re-acquainted with it and figure out what was causing the problem.

Anyway, once I was done with that things calmed down just a little. The clambake shirts arrived and I was excited to see how they came out this year. They looked good! This year we chose a lobster for the back, and next year it will be a seahorse!

For lunch I had the steak sandwich and then I went out to get some legal sized paper for CPC. We're making a new mailer, and we ran out of paper!

In the afternoon, I got a call from Cablevision about the complaint I filed. I don't know if I had mentioned earlier in the week, but we got a pamphlet from Cablevision on Monday that listed all of their rates and fees. Long story short... I found a fee that we were being charged that the pamphlet said did not apply to our business account. When I called, first the representative told me that I was wrong, but when I insisted that I was reading it right off the paper, and that I had pretty good reading comprehension skills... I finally spoke to a supervisor who admitted that I was RIGHT, but that the pamphlet was wrong, and because of that... there was nothing that could be done. I insisted that since I had it in writing, it should be honored.... but he didn't give up. SO.... I filed a complaint with the New York State agency that handles utility complaints.

Anyway, a woman from Cablevision called today to let me know she had received the complaint form from the state, and would be investigating. Finally....

I left work at 5:00 and I just came home and relaxed tonight. I had a bad headache and I wanted to do absolutely nothing. I watched the news and then I tried to clean up the desktop on this computer. It's been a mess, and since I got the Mac, I paid less and less attention to keeping this computer running smoothly... but now that I've been using it a lot more often... I decided I should do a little work to get it under control.

I uninstalled a bunch of programs and cleaned up some things that were causing errors.

Next, I ran 1 mile on the Treadmill while watching Pokemon. II wasn't feeling so great, so even though I had planned to do more, I didn't.

-Gym- Report:
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins

I took a shower and then Dan called to say that he landed in Los Angeles.

Now I'm just gonna go watch some Password and get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com