Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 13, 2014 - 10:36 p.m.
"hibachi and italian ices" or "flooding and torrential rains"

Hey Journal!

Again I'm getting to bed later than I had planned. I really don't understand why there just aren't more hours in the day! I never seem to have enough time to get everything done!

So...I suppose you could say that today was a pretty rainy day! Last night while I was sleeping the emergency alert went off on my phone TWICE! One was around 2:50am and the other was around 5am! Both times it was so loud and scary and I woke up in a panic!

Apparently that happened to everyone with a Verizon iPhone because there were lots of comments about it on Facebook! I would have been just fine sleeping through the storm and not being told that there was a flash flood warning.

When I got up, I checked Facebook and saw lots of pictures of the Southern State flooded and Sunrise Highway looked like a river! I was kinda curious to see what it looked like outside... but when I went upstairs there was nothing much to see. Yes, it was raining... but there weren't any big puddles or rivers!

The Expressway was really bad this morning but I took the Northern State and there was no traffic at all. I saw some side roads that looked flooded, but other than that, nothing major.

Since we did get a heavy downpour, the golf course was closed today. It was nice to have a quiet day with nothing much going on. I was able to catch up on some things.... some CPC stuff, and some stuff for the dues.

The day went by pretty quickly... For lunch I had a French Dip sandwich, and then before I knew it, it was 5:00 and time to head out to dinner with Linda.

We had made plans to get dinner and were going to go to a place near Farmingdale, but Cameron wanted to get Hibachi...so we went to Gasho. I know I've said it a million times before, but Gasho is falling apart. The whole place looks old and dated and it always used to be PACKED. Now it's just sad. Meanwhile, if they just invested in replacing the carpet, that would go a long way! The carpet is just old, faded, and musty.

The chef kept calling Connor "sexy boy" which was kinda random! He tried to let Connor catch rice in his mouth, but he missed. I, however, caught it perfectly! I think this is the first time I've actually succeeded! Wahoo!

My hibachi rice was very enjoyable, and I'm happy with our choice to go there. After we finished, we dropped my car off and then drove past the new house. Linda and the kids hadn't seen it yet, so we headed over that way. Just before we got there it started to rain a little and then as we turned down the street it started POURING like crazy! It was an intense downpour!

While we waited for the rain to stop, we took a drive down the Boulevard and past the amazing KPPC. After the rain stopped, Cameron wanted to go to a park but everything would have been really wet and gross!

Next, we went for Italian Ice at Ralph's in Kings Park. Linda said that the prices are 25 cents more expensive at this Ralph's compared to hers. Beasts!

While we had our ices, Cameron wanted to get a new spoon but she was kinda afraid to approach the counter to take it. She walked up really slowly, and then backed up a few times. It was really funny. Then, Connor just got up and walked over to the counter and took the spoon! Cameron was upset! lol

When we were done with our ices, Connor REALLY had to go to the bathroom but there were no bathrooms in the ice place. We took a walk over to the train station and I wasn't even sure that it would be open...but it was! It's a really weird little waiting room, but kinda cool. Nobody was there, so we used the bathroom and then took a walk up the overpass thing for the train. We were hoping to see the train go by but the next one wasn't for another 45 minutes.

After that, they dropped me off at home and I got ready for bed. I took a shower, watched some TV, and now it's late and I have to get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com