Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 31, 2014 - 11:00 p.m.
"extravaganza 2014" or "not a wash out"

Hey Journal!

This morning I woke up as the sun came up and I couldn't stay in bed past 7:30! I got up and started working on stuff! I did some laundry and started opening some boxes and putting things where they belong!

Dan slept until about 8:30 and then got dressed and ready to go to the storage facility. He met his mom and dad there at 9 and they got the remaining stuff. Because we were able to get everything out today, we saved on a paying another month's rent! That's really great!

I got our plates and bowls unpacked and loaded them into the dishwasher. I also set up the shower curtain rod so that tonight we could shower here for the first time!!

Just as I was finishing up with that, Dan and his parents returned with the stuff. We brought everything in, and then it was time to get ready for the big Labor Day Extravaganza!

I would definitely say that even though we had some time constraints today, we really managed to get a lot done.

We left here at about 11:30 and we stopped at Dan's parents' house to get some more clothes and some things we would need for the shower. (Our soap, shampoo, q-tips, towels... Stuff like that!)

We drove the big truck from work so that we could return it and then my mom drove us home! It worked out perfectly...and also ensured that we could have a couple of drinks at the party! We parked the truck in the maintenance building and then we walked to the clubhouse to get started on setting up the check in booth!

Last year, we boxed up everything we needed for the booth to make it run smoother this year and it really really helped tremendously! We were able to get everything set up in record time.

It was hot and humid today, which wasn't too nice and the forecast called for rain and thunderstorms so we were all kinda nervous that it would get washed out. Even as we started checking people in, everyone was asking what would happen if it rained, and we just kept telling them that the fireworks would go off no matter what!

The check in went pretty smoothly this year. I think people are starting to relax a little and the membership as a whole is much more "go-with-the-flow." I think that may be because we've recently done a much better job of looking more organized (with e-mails, invoices, postcards, etc.) I think that makes people feel more confident that there's a plan and less likely to question it.

Anyway, we managed to get through most of the day without any rain, and just as Re and I were getting ready to close down the check-in booth, it started to POUR! It didn't just rain a little... It was total insanity. Re and I were stuck under the tent, and from what I heard everyone in the back was scrambling to get under the awning or inside the clubhouse.

Luckily it passed pretty quickly... maybe 45 minutes. While it rained, the balloon artists and some other entertainment came inside and people really just waited it out. There were a couple people who left, but most stayed, which was great.

Soon enough, everything was back in action outside. We had everything prepped for the fireworks at 8 on the dot. (There was another band of rain coming, and we wanted to get it finished as soon as possible!)

I lost the CD just before it was time to start so I had to scramble around like crazy looking for it. Eventually I did find it.... I had put it over on the golf cart while I closed off the bridge area.

The fireworks were good.... Not the best show we've ever had, although I will say that I think the music was the best compilation yet. The problems were that the music was a little too low. I would have liked it louder, but the DJ had to take down his extra speakers because of the rain. The other issue was that the show started out really lame. It was kinda duddish. Later, we found out that a bunch of fireworks shells didn't go off because of the rain. :/ Well, at least it wasn't our fault!

I had a drink and hung out on the bridge with Dan while the fireworks were going off. After the show, everyone was dancing on the back lawn of the clubhouse, so me, Dan, and my cousins were all having a big dance party! After that, we went into the restaurant and hung out for a little while. We stayed until about 9 and then my mom drove us home.

When we got home, we took our first showers in our new house, and now it's time for bed! It's always funny every year after the extravaganza.... it seems like it could be 2am, and every time I look at the clock I'm shocked at how early it is!

Anyway, we're exhausted from a long and crazy day!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com