Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 27, 2014 - 11:45 p.m.
"we've got the keys" or "diane's last day"

Hey Journal!

WE OFFICIALLY HAVE A HOUSE! Not only do we own it, but now we actually have the keys! It's crazy!!

This morning Dan and I got up a little earlier than usual for work so that we could stop at Home Depot. We wanted to get door handles so that we could change the locks as soon as we got in.

This whole day I was at work so excited and couldn't get anything done. I worked really hard these past few days to get all the work done for the week so that I could take Thursday and Friday off, and I managed to be completely done by this afternoon and just had to wait it out.

I left work a little after 4 and headed for the storage facility. I wanted to pick up a lamp because I realized that if we wanted to take the wallpaper down tonight we wouldn't be able to see anything without it!

So, I got the lamps and then headed home. I got change and waited for Dan to get home.

We met Bob at the house at 6:00 and we pulled right into the driveway! It was so wild just pulling up at home in OUR OWN DRIVEWAY! So wild!

Bob said that the sellers and their agent weren't coming and that they had left the keys in the mailbox. We opened the door and went inside and Bob did the same little otur he had done last Friday! After we looked everything over with Bob, we thanked him for everything and he thanked us, and then he left.... and we were all alone.... HOUSE!

We changed the locks on the front door and then shortly after that my mom came over to help us clean the kitchen. She vacuumed and cleaned out all the cabinets and then washed the whole refrigerator. We took out every compartment and she washed them with dishwashing soap. Niceeeeeeee.

At 7:00, my Grandma and Grandpa came over to see the place. We gave them the grand tour and they seemed to like to very much. They didn't stay very long because my Grandma wanted to get home before the sun went down!

After that, Liz came by and helped us with more stuff. My mom and I finished the kitchen work and Dan and Liz used the Paper Tiger to put holes in the old wallpaper and then sprayed it down with Dif. The top layer of the paper came off really well, and it looks like the walls were properly primed, so it shouldn't be a problem to get the backing off tomorrow.

We just have to go to Home Depot and get a scraper. I should have gotten it the other day, but I didn't think we would need it. Now I think we do.

The night flew by because there was so much to do. Liz helped me to change the door knob in the basement before we left, and then we called it a night around 10:00.

It's all so crazy and I can't even believe that we REALLY own our own house now and that it's completely OURS now! CRAZY. There's so much to do, but our plan for tomorrow is to have the cable installed, install thermostats and fire alarms, clean the bathrooms, and shop for some bedroom furniture.

After we finished up, we went to dinner with Liz at the Cheesecake Factory. We hadn't eaten anything after work so we were really hungry!

I got the spaghetti and meatballs. The night just flew by... I can't believe we're already home! I waited and waited all day for this and now it's already over! lol The good part is we get to do it all again tomorrow!

Meanwhile, tonight was the FINAL episode of World News with Diane Sawyer. I'm really sad. I can't believe it. I know Diane is cooky and sometimes a little weird, but she's AMAZING. World News is literally my favorite show on TV and how lucky am I that it was on five nights a week! I recorded it today, as I do every day, and Dan and I just finished watching it. It's really just not going to be the same without Zsa Zsa.

I'm going to miss her sign-off every night, when she wishes me (and the other viewers, I guess) a good night, and I always say it back to her!

From the promo for tomorrow's show, it looks like it may go back to being called "World News Tonight," unless that's just the interim. I, personally, would have liked to see the interim title be "World News without Diane Sawyer," but then again... I'm the one who thinks that when Alex Trebek dies they should open Jeopardy! with, "And now, here is the gHost of Jeopardy!, Alex Trebek!"

Anyway, now it's off to bed.... We have a long day ahead of us tomorrow, so I'd like to get some sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com