Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 07, 2014 - 1:30 a.m.
"dan's 30th birthday party" or "jimmy's birthday at croxleys"

Hey Journal!

What a busy Saturday we've had! It's been non-stop!

Dan and I got up around 9:30 and after watching TV for about a half hour, we went out to get new garbage pails for our recyclables. We went to the Town recycling facility to get them. You can really use any container you want, but it's cool to have the orange and green pails AND even though you do have to pay for them the prices are slightly less than I think you'd pay at Home Depot for the same thing.

When we got to the place, we turned in and there was a giant scale that you could drive on with a trailer next to it. There was also a big road on the left side of the trailer. There were no signs indicating what you should do, or where you should go... but since I wasn't dropping off anything to be recycled, I didn't think I was supposed to be on the big scale.

We drove around on the road to the left of the scale and went to the administration office. We waited for about 5 minutes and then a man came in. He told us that we'd have to go to the trailer with the scale! Of course. So we headed back over there.

When we pulled up, the man was very very nasty and told us that ANY TIME we came, we had to go on the big scale, and we couldn't bypass it like we had just done! Okay. I know how it works now... but REALLY... does it make sense that you would drive on a big scale when you have nothing to be weighed?! And because it's not the most sensible thing to do, a SIGN might be helpful to let people know!

Well, in the end, we got out pails. I'm appalled at the green recycling one... it says "Smith Town" WHAT?! Who the heck okayed that.

Once we were done with the recycling pail debacle, we went to the Edelweiss Delicatessen to get some breakfast. I'd never been there before, but it was good. I got eggs and a roll. I was supposed to get sausage, but there was apparently a miscommunication and I didn't get any.

I spoke to my mom shortly after that and told her about the scale, and she said, matter-of-factly, "You always have to go on the scale!" AS IF EVERYONE ELSE IN THIS TOWN GOT THE MEMO EXCEPT ME!!

So, when we got home we started in on the wallpaper again. We made EXCELLENT progress! Using the Dif on a roller is so much more effective than the spray. It made the paper come down super easily, and the stuff didn't get all over the place because it was neatly applied and not spraying back.

We made did two full walls today, and only had to stop because we had to start getting ready for my cousin Dan's 30th Birthday Party!

Oh, also, this morning our Treadmill was delivered! Its in a giant box and I can't wait to set it up and get one it, but we have to clear out some of the boxes in that room first so I can have a place for it and room to put it together!

Dan got showered up, and then I got dressed and ready to go. We left here around 1:50 and first we stopped at the CVS in Kings Park to get some gift certificates for him. Before we got there, we stopped at Wendy's to get a little something to hold us over because we were both hungry and figured that food wasn't going to be served right away.

We arrived at 3:00, and the party was in the backyard in a giant tent with lots and lots of tables and chairs! I had no idea it was going to be so big!

The day started out REALLY hot but it got much nice later one. We had a great time... playing with Evelyn, talking to Stephen and Christen, I also spent a while talking to David about his job, and I invited everyone to our housewarming.... specifically the cousins whose addresses I didn't know! (I asked my mom for them days ago, and she never got back to me.)

In the evening, Dan and Christen played beer pong with Dan and Stephen. It was really a fun time.

I feel like the two paragraphs I've written about the party don't do it justice, but maybe I just can't figure out how to write it all down... or maybe I'm just so exhausted that the words aren't coming to me. Just know it was a fun day and we had a great time.

We left around 9:30, I think, and then we headed in the direction of home. Tonight, Jimmy was also celebrating his birthday at Croxley's, and we really did want to go, so we hurried there and met up with him.

Jimmy and Chelsea were very happy that we came, and we hung out there for a couple of hours. I was getting hungry again, so I ordered the elusive Chicken Pot Pie that's not available at the Smithtown Croxleys!

I also had the misfortune of sitting at the end of the table with one of the rowdier attendees. He's a friend of Jimmy's who was pretty drunk and every time he put his beer glass down I literally feared that it was going to shatter and I would get killed by flying glass. After he calmed down with that, he thought it was hysterical to hold a steak knife to my neck for no apparent reason other than it was funny because he didn't even know me. Then, when my pot pie arrived, he somehow started a food fight with the girl across the table who he was hitting on, and hands wound up in my pot pie, and the pot pie wound up on their faces.

All I know is that I was moving to the other side of the table. Oh, and I wasn't paying for my less-than-half-eaten pot pie. He could do that. I never said anything to him about about, but I didn't leave any money for it, either. Dan just left money for his beer.

Anyway, the other end of the table was much more civilized. We talked to Trey (the one who brought KFC to the Super Bowl Party!) We hung out for a while longer, and then we departed because we were both really exhausted from a long day.

On the way home there was lots of lightning and thunder and it did rain a bit, also. It was my first time driving my new car in the rain and ALSO I think it's the first time this summer that we've had a real rain storm. I can remember darting in from the car to the house to avoid the rain other years...but this Summer, this was the first time.

It's so wild how it has only really started to feel like summer now that Labor Day has come and gone. I only have one weather wish, though... A nice, warm, winter!

When we got home, we took our showers and then we watched some of The Quest. We're too tired to finish it all now, so we'll pick up again another day!

Now it's time for bed... Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com