Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 13, 2014 - 1:40 a.m.
"the raccoon and the streetsweeper" or "skipper's"

Hey Journal!

HAPPY FRIDAY!! Wow... tonight I have one of the weirdest stories, EVER! It's unreal. First, though, let me fill you in on the rest of the day...

This morning I got up for work and headed in. I was anticipating a really crazy day, possibly crazier than yesterday. Interestingly enough, we got more dues payments and more money than yesterday... but at the same time, the office was much calmer and it was a much less stressful day than yesterday!

Today we beat our all-time one day record.... in fact, we BLEW IT AWAY! It was unbelieveable!

For lunch, I had the French Dip panini at about 3:00. I hadn't really eaten anything else all day long so I was ravenous by the time I ordered, and it took a while for them to make it, too.

Even though it was a really busy dues day, there wasn't too much excitement to report. There was one really weird thing, though... a member came in to the office and SERIOUSLY told Steve that he thought he had looked "terrible" the last time he saw him. WHO SAYS THAT to someone!? That's so weird.

Anyway, I left at 5:00 and headed home. I had to drop off a letter at the post office for Steve and get it postmarked. Then, I went to Ace Hardware in Deer Park to get this special glue that Mike A. had recommended for fixing loose banisters. I put the address in Google Maps and it took me to a random senior living gated community! WHAT!? I pulled over on the side of the road and managed to figure out what the real location was. It wasn't too far, but I pulled up and got out of the car only to find out that they had closed at 5:00. I looked at my phone and it was 5:00 on the dot! Ugh!

WHAT HARDWARE STORE CLOSES AT 5pm ON FRIDAY? I don't understand.

I got home and put Dan's laundry in the dryer. This morning, I had set the washing machine to start automatically at 4:30 so that when I got home from work they would be finishing up! I love this new washer/dryer! The only thing I wish it had was the ability to control it from my phone. They need to make Wifi washer/dryers!

Dan and I met at his parents' house and we had to help them close their pool. We helped put the cover on, tighten the cord, and attach the little plastic clips. It didn't take too long, but Dan's dad got angry about it as is the case every year when we help them close the pool.

We left as soon as we were done with that and headed home to get showered up and ready for a fun evening. Dan went to the gym, and I waited for Re to arrive.

When Re got here, I showed her all of the things we have done with the house since she was last here and then we went to Ace Hardware in Smithtown to get the glue for the bannister. We took my car since it's new and I wanted to give Re a ride in it. We got to the hardware store and they had what we needed!

We weren't gone very long, and we turned around and headed home. It was just getting dark out and we were coming around the corner after going right at the bull. Just then, a raccoon darted out into the middle of the road and continued to run in front of my car! We were on a curve, so I couldn't see if cars were coming, and there was nowhere for me to swerve to the right. There was a car behind me, too... so slamming on the brakes wasn't an option, either.

BAM!! I hit the gross little thing with my car and it made such a loud thud! The car KINDA lifted up a little, but not as much as I would have expected for having run over something that big. I dunno what happened, really.

Re and I were in shock, and she asked me if we should go back and look at it! I said I was more concerned with my car, and wanted to make sure that there wasn't any damage. We pulled into the hospital parking lot and got out to inspect the car. The bumper was fine, and there was no blood or anything, either. So far so good. Until Re realized that a little plastic square cap thing was missing from the bumper.

I had no idea what its purpose was, or how it actually managed to fall out, but I was really upset that it's missing. We went back to try to find it.

We drove back to the bull, turned around, and then scoured the road as we drove. It was pretty dark now, but I had my brights on and we looked as hard as we could. Soon enough, we were back at the hospital having seen no sign of the raccoon OR the plastic cap! I was sooooo confused. We went back and drove it again, and I noticed some weird wet lines on the side of the road. I told Re that it looked like a street sweeper had gone by. Re though, and I have to admit, I felt the same way... that HOW could a street sweeper have come by at 8pm on a Friday night the minute after I hit a raccoon. We followed the lines, expecting to disprove our theory.... but as we approached the intersection by CVS... THERE IS WAS!! THE STREET SWEEPER!

HOW INSANE IS THAT that we were literally followed by a street sweeper that apparently came and took the raccoon AND the cap away! UNREAL! The coincidences are absolutely unbelievable.

I'm pretty upset about my car. It's freaking BRAND NEW! :( We looked online when we got home and the part seems like costs about $11, but we couldn't find anywhere to specify the color I wanted...so I don't wanna get stuck with some crappy replacement part that doesn't look anything like my car! :( UGH! What bad luck I have.

Anyway, we drove by one more time and then headed home. Dan was just getting out of the shower after his gym visit and we told him the crazy story.

We were all pretty hungry, and we wanted to go somewhere different for dinner...so we decided to head to Northport and find a restaurant down there.

We parked and started looking around and we checked out the menu at a few different places. We decided on a place called Skipper's which was at the end of the road near the water.

Our waitress was Pat and I told her that I was undecided on what to order. I was between the turkey burger (I know, random for me), the steak sandwich, and the chicken parm. She led me towards the chicken parm, and I was very happy with my selection. It was good.

We got home around 11:00 and after Re dropped us off, Dan and I took one more ride down by the scene of the raccoon incident to look for my car piece. It was nowhere to be found!!

When we got back, we watched the FINALE of The Quest! What a great show.... I really have gotten so attached to it. I'm sad that it's over. There are some unanswered questions, though... like WHY was the Vizier bad and what did he really do to help Verlox The Darkness? Meanwhile, I will miss "The Fates" saying "Paladin...MEET YA FATE." and "Turn Around." They were so weird, and I loved it.

Alas, it's pretty late now so I'd better get to sleep. Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com