Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 26, 2014 - 11:45 p.m.
"last minute party preparations!"

Hey Journal!

What a crazy day of preparation for the party! This is going to be CRAZY! By the way...this is the first journal that I'm writing on my Mac in a LONG time. I don't think I've used it properly since we moved into Dan's parents' basement just under a year ago!

Oh, and by the way... MY BIRTHDAY IS TOMORROW! How wild is that. I know that I say, year after year, that as I get older just don't seem as exciting or as eventful as they used to.... but this year is is for a completely different reason! This year all I have done is focus on the Housewarming party tomorrow and that hasn't left ANY time to even remember that my birthday is coming up!

Aside from just worrying about fixing and getting our house in order (ha) for ourselves, we've been scrambling to get everything we need for the party. The party of the century. It had better be because of all the money we're spending on it.

Anyway, I got up at 9am and started cleaning. I got the upstairs bathroom done and cleaned the bathtub and stuff. My mom came over at 9:30 and she cleaned the kitchen and vacuumed all the rooms downstairs. We did a lot of miscellaneous things, got some stuff put away, and then prepared as much as we could.

Later on, we really needed a break because I had never eaten anything and my mom was hungry for lunch. We went to Target first to get some things and on the way I stopped to get gas at the new Hess station. Their prices were AMAZING and their war with the other station down the road is really paying off for me. They also gave away free coffee, which my mom partook of, and they gave out samples of some lemonade flavor drops for bottled water.

After Target, we went to Price Club in Commack. We had lunch there... I got pizza and my mom got the hot dog combo. We ate, and then my mom bought the vegetable platter for the party.

When we got home, my mom left and I worked on straightening up again. Some things in that living room are just SO hard to find a home for.

I got the keychain attachment for our new security system, so I installed that quickly. It's interesting. I don't know if I would ever actually use it... but for $10 it's not a bad thing to have.

Then, I quickly ran out to the mall to get a shirt I had wanted, and then I hurried back.

I got home at 4 and Re arrived a little after. While I was waiting of her, I cleaned the glass with the Windex I had bought at Target.

Re and I set up the round and rectangular tables in the backyard and figured out the best layout. Then we got all the chairs in place. It was a lot harder than it sounds. Fisrt, the layout was tricky and took us a while and a few tries before we were satisfied. Then the chairs were an issue because we had to figure out the best arrangement of chairs since we had different types. The nicer chairs are better for the rectangular ones, and the plastic ones go well around the circle tables.

Dan got home at 5, and we realized that the lawn guys NEVER CAME TODAY to cut the lawn! What the heck... they come every Friday except the one Friday we actually need them to come since we have a big party. Ugh!!!!!!!!!!

When it got dark, we headed out to the beer distributor to get more beer, some Mike's hards, and Re got some cider.

Then we went to Party City to get more chip bowls, Target to return a roll of contact paper, and then Home Depot to get a toilet paper holder for the downstairs bathroom. That's right... there was no toilet paper holder in there when we moved in. Re says, "Animals."

Finally, we took a break for dinner! We went to Applebee's. Re had a gift card from some of her students so she treated us to a nice meal.

I had the sirloin. :)

When we were done, we came home with all the goods. We loaded the fridge with all the beer to get it cold.

Re headed home and Dan and I got all the hard stuff put away. We took a short break to shower and then watch a little of tonight's Shark Tank premiere. We were too tired, though...so we just watched the first product.

THE PARTY IS TOMORROW!!! And it's getting late...12:47 now.... So I'd better get to bed and rest up for the craziness, stress, and FUN that's coming!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com