Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 27, 2014 - 11:47 p.m.
"housewarming party" or "it's my birthday!"

Hey Journal!!

What a day we had today! It was packed full of craziness and excitement and we're EXHAUSTED now, and ready for bed!

First off, today was my birthday!! Wahoo! The only thing is, it totally didn't feel like it. This whole week we've been planning and preparing for our big Housewarming Party today, so I almost forgot that it was my birthday, too!

We got up around 9:30 and my mom came by to drop off some chairs and a few other things for the party. I was finishing up putting away some random items that were still out on the living room floor, and did a load of laundry to get rid of some clothes that were laying around.

At about 12:00, Lau arrived and I gave her the grand tour of the house! Believe it or not, today was the first time she's seen the house! Once she had taken the tour, she got to work helping us to set up for the party. Re arrived shortly after and she and Lau put all the tablecloths on the tables outside, set up the centerpieces, and took care of everything out there!

That was such a big help because I needed some time to do a few things inside, shave, and get changed for the party. When we were all done with that, we set up the coolers outside and before I knew it, it was time for the party to start.

My mom, my Grandma, and Jimmy all arrived at about 1:40! Early birds! Then at about 2:00, more people started coming! I don't really remember the order of who arrived, but the party was hopping in no time.

I was shocked because one of the first things that happened... my Uncle Charlie almost fell into the covered pool! I don't even understand how that could have happened.. I mean, I had worried about the kids running onto the pool cover and stuff, but I never imagined that an ADULT wouldn't have realized that the pool was under there! lol I wasn't there, but I just heard it happened TWICE! At least he didn't get wet!

Our real estate agent came with his wife, and I had been giving tours to all my family, so I said, "Finally, someone who doesn't NEED a tour! In fact, you gave US a tour!" I was really happy that Bob came... he was such a great guy to work with and he knows his job inside and out. I always saw his name all over town, and now I know why! I would recommend him to anybody!

Okay, so let's see... who all came....
My mom
Grandma and Grandpa
My Aunt Regina and Uncle Chalies
Christen came later on after she finished working
Aunt Maureen and Uncle Joe
Matt and Erin
David and Gabriel
Stephen
Aunt Janice and Uncle Scott
Alexandra, Eric, and Ryan
Glenn
Dan's Parents
Dan's Grandma (who mysteriously disappeared before the food was served!)
Dan's Brother and Jessica (At about 4)
Aunt Karen
Jimmy
Re, Lau, Jen B and Lisa, Mike and Josh, Liz, Joey and Kenny (who we met for the first time today), Bernie
Linda, Dan, Connor, and Cameron
Linda's mom and dad
Some of Dan's friends from work
Our Neighbors from both sides.... (More to come about that)
Our real estate agent and his wife

And... I really can't believe it... but I can't think anymore. I'm sure I'm forgetting someone so obvious! Forgive me!

Anyway, the day went by so quickly. At 4:00, the food was delivered and set up. The food was great, and we got so many compliments on it. Everyone seemed to really enjoy!

Now that the party is over, I feel like I didn't really get a chance to talk to everyone and to be as involved as I would have liked.... I feel like I didn't spend enough time with any one person or group! The stresses of hosting a party!

Later on in the day, our neighbors to the East came over. We had never met them before, but they were soooo nice, and I'm so glad we got to meet them! They were super friendly! They have triplets... so my Aunt and Uncle were talking to them and sharing triplet stories!

Two of their triplets were over... Brittany and Kyle. They were both super-nice! Somehow, I don't really know how this all panned out, but all of a sudden my whole family was marching over to their house to see their halloween decorations! I got on the tour and headed over, too! Before I knew it... our party had virtually moved to the neighbor's house!! It was unreal!

They have a ton of decorations both inside and outside! They even have a giant pony that moves and "eats" carrots. They have a giant nutcracker that was dressed up as an indian for halloween. It was wild, and I loved it!

I really hope that they have some summer parties (or any parties) and invite us over! :)

Eventually, the party moved back, but everyone was getting ready to leave. Our friends stuck around a little longer and we played beer pong, flip cup, and 7-11-Doubles! It was a lot of fun. I played Beer Pong with my mom against Dan and his Dad. I did excellent and we were winning by a LOT but they came back in the end! :(

After everyone else had left, it was Me, Dan, Liz, Re, Lau, Linda, Dan, and my mom. We all sat in the living room and opened our gifts! We got a few actual gifts and most people gave gift cards to Home Depot or Bed, Bath, & Beyond! We will DEFINITELY be using those soon! We've already spent so much at Home Depot, and we can easily double that amount!

We had so much help getting this party to happen... from Re helping us arrange the tables and go shopping last night, to Lau and Re coming early today to set up, my mom buying and making stuff for the party and cleaning up afterwards, Dan's mom who coordinated all the things with dinner, the food, coffee, and everything as well as helping to clean up.... and then my Grandma who made the salad! It was really crazy how much everyone helped us and how we wouldn't have been able to do it without them all!

But now that the party is over... we are EXHAUSTED... and I think that's the last BIG party we're hosting for a LONG WHILE!

I can barely keep my eyes open now so we're off to bed. Tomorrow we have so much work to get the house cleaned up again, to get the backyard in order, all the games and stuff put away, trash taken out, bottles cleaned up, and the worst of all... moving the tables back to work and the chairs back to Dan's parents' house! AHHHHHH!

I don't even want to think about it now! So much! But it was a great day, and from what I hear, everyone else had a great time and said it was an excellent party. I feel like I have no reference because I ran around all day long, but I'm happy we threw a good party!

All that, and it was my Birthday, too!! I got a lot of cards and we had a cake for me and Linda... since, of course, we share a birthday!! Woooop!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com