Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 04, 2014 - 12:13 a.m.
"false alarm" or "brick pointer"

Hey Journal!

What a crazy night.... we planned to go out to Smokin' Al's with Lau for dinner, but our plans got a little messed up after we had a false alarm from our alarm system! Craziness!!!!

This morning I got up for work at the usual time at about 8:00 the brick pointing guy came over to work on our chimney. He was setting up his scaffolding on the side of the house, and by the time I left for work it looked like he was about to get started.

Today was a VERY quiet day at work because Dan's dad was off today. He went upstate to go hunting. Since I didn't have much to do in the morning, I was brainstorming some ideas for the weekend. I am always in search of a REALLY good corn maze, so I suggested that we got with Linda, Dan, Connor, and Cameron to a GOOD corn maze in Pennsylvania!

At first, we were a little worried about the weather, but now it looks like we should be fine! I did some research to find out which corn maze is most desirable, and we decided to leave at 10:00 tomorrow! We're going to get to PA just after the rain stops, and we'll get a hotel to stay overnight, but we don't know where yet. I figured it's best to just wing it!

When Steve got in, I had to scan a lot of papers that we needed to sent to the bank, and then he went out on the course. For lunch, I had the meal of the day, which was pretty good... big pieces of turkey with gravy! Mmmm!

I left work at 4:50 and headed home, and when Dan and I arrived... the brick guy was just finishing up his work. He wrote out a receipt for us (with tomorrow's date on it?) and then we forked over his payment.

It wound up costing $1,500 to repair the chimney, and it DID look bad before... it looked like it was crumbling from the top... and our inspector, and Mike, said that it NEEDED to be repaired. If not, they said it could fall down over the winter and that could be a disaster! We agreed that it needed to be done, and we committed to it... but it's just such a bummer to spend $1,500 and get nothing to show for it. It's not like we have some nice, new thing... or we re-did a room that we can enjoy. It's a chimney. Woo Hoo.

After that, Dan hurried off to the gym. We had plans to have dinner with Lau, so I did a quick spin on the treadmill and then got ready.

-Gym- Report:
1 mile on the Treadmill in 13mins

I took a shower and shortly after Dan got home, at 7:15, Lau arrived.

We left to go to Smokin' Al's, and I was soooo craving their food! I was super-hungry, and READY to eat! Just as we were about FIVE minutes from the restaurant, we got a call that our alarm was going off! REALLY???

They said they were sending the police, and we hurried home, too. This is the first time our alarm has ever gone off, so we had no reason to doubt it, and it was kinda scary!

Well, after a 35 minute ride back... we examined the perimeter and there was nothing out of the ordinary! We checked the basement windows, and the door, and everything looked FINE. We went inside, and everything was fine there, too. We did find a bunch of cobwebs around the motion detector, so we figured that must have set it off! Ugh! Dan cleaned them away, and then we headed back out for dinner!

I felt bad, especially for Lau, since our alarm had ruined her dinner... but we decided to go out to a different BBQ restaurant. This time we went to Dixie Smokehouse in Kings Park. We figured this was much closer, and should any more false alarms happen, we'd be much closer to home!

The good news is that there were no more false alarms, and the problem seems to be remedied. It's good that nothing happened, but just a little annoying that that thing went off for no good reason!

The food at Dixie Smokehouse was good, but it was no Smokin' Al's. I didn't even know that place existed! I'd never seen it before. I liked my chicken, but it was a little less juicy, and the mac and cheese was nowhere near as good. The mashed potatoes were very good, though. I'd go back... but I think overall, I'd prefer to go to Al's if I had to the time to drive farther.

We had a very nice dinner with Lau, and after we ate, we went to Target to check out curtains and lights. We picked out two lamps for the endtables in our bedroom, and we bought them. We're not sure if we're going to keep them... we'll have to check out some other stores to see if we like anything better!

When we got home, we said Goodnight to Lau and then we headed inside to watch last night's episode of "How to Get Away with Murder." The show was good, and I'm into it... but I'm only more confused than I was last week!

Now it's time for bed.... It's pretty late and we have to get up early for our weekend adventure to the cornfields of Pennsylvania!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com