Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 05, 2014 - 10:25 p.m.
"adventures continued" or "the rest of our weekend"

Hey Journal!

This morning we woke up at 8:40 in our beautiful two bedroom suite in Allentown, PA! Connor and Cameron were already up, and we all got ready to head down to the continental breakfast! We were all very excited for it.

It did not disappoint. We made our own waffles, and the eggs, ham, and tater tots were great, too! I had cranberry juice, and was so full! I wanted to get more... I wanted to make another waffle... but I was just so stuffed!

While we were eating breakfast, Cameron was playing with a random boy named Mark who was the same age, and was very interested in trains.

After we ate, we headed back up to the room and the kids put their bathing suits on so they could go in the pool. I wish I had remembered to bring mine... I would have liked to have gone for a dip, too!! We did that for 30 minutes and then headed back up to the room to pack up and get ready to go!

We hit the road around 11:00 and made a quick stop at Dunkin Donuts before the trek home. We didn't make any stops on the way home, and we made pretty good time. I was a little hungry, and wished we could have made a stop at Cracker Barrell, but I guess it was better that we got home and still had some of the day to decompress before work tomorrow.

Connor came with us in the car but Cameron did not. Dan told them both that if they didn't get out of the pool after 30 minutes, they couldn't ride home with us. Connor got right out and put his towel on, and Cameron did not. Dan told her okay, you can't come with us... and then he was determined to hold to it.

We didn't have any traffic, really... we moved pretty. We decided to take the Verrazano because a) there were reports of traffic by the George Washington Bridge and b) the tolls are less. If you went GW, we would have paid $9 there and then $6.50 on the Throgs Neck. This way we paid $9 for the Outerbridge and $0 for the Verrazano!

We hit a little traffic just before the Outerbridge, but I think that was because the police closed the bridge for about 5 minutes to clear a car that had broken down. Once they opened it, it moved well until a very small stretch of the Belt Parkway. As far as traffic on the Belt goes, this wasn't bad at all.

We got back to their house at 2:17pm. We beat Dan and Linda by about 15 minutes. We went inside and used the bathroom, and Connor was veryyyyy excited because he got his new lunchbox delivered from Amazon!

We hung around for about 15 minutes but then we headed off to get some lunch at Chipotle and head home. We were super hungry, and I was starting to get a headache. We decided to go to the Hauppauge one, but I suppose we should have known there's ALWAYS a terrible line there. The problem isn't so much that the service is slow... It's the cashier. While we waited almost 30 minutes, I watched everyone in front of us, and they all got to the cashier and had to wait. It backed everything up. There's only ONE register. The one in Farmingdale has two registers. There's no reason this one shouldn't have two also. Everyone gets their food, then waits while three people in front of them have to pay and the cashier runs around getting things for people that they forgot. It's really a bad system.

Anyway, once we got our food, it was very good. I love my Steak 3-pointer. When we were done, we headed home. We were only there about 15 minutes and then headed out to the store. Dan wanted to look for curtains for our bedroom, so we went to the mall. We looked in Sears, but they don't have curtains. We did look at their bed sets, but we didn't like any of them (even though we already have a bed set from BBB.) Next, we went to Zumiez because I had to return some jeans I had purchased online. I was a little sad because the jeans were regularly $50 and I got them on clearance... one for $8 something and the other for $10!

The girl who returned them for me was really impressed with the great sale I got, which made me feel worse about returning them.... the only thing was they didn't fit. I guess that's a prett big thing, though!

We also went to Penny's but they didn't have any home stuff (more on that later) and then we went to Macy's.

I texted Lau because she said she had gotten her curtains at JCPenney, so we asked her where... and she said the Home Store near Applebee's. That's a really weird store. It's super run-down inside and outside, and there's never anyone in it. Nevertheless, the went there and they did have a very large selection of curtains. (Space isn't an issue there... the place is huge and very empty.)

The people who work there must love it because compared to the Penny's in the mall, there's NOBODY there and they probably do almost nothing all day long.

We found two curtains we liked and bought four of both. Freaking expensive.. but we are going to return four of them since we'll have to pick the one that's right.

After that we headed home and I was hitting a wall. I was EXHAUSTED and I had a killer headache.

Dan went to the gym and I sat down to watch World News for a little bit. After that, I took a shower and got ready for bed. I took a Naproxen and that zapped my headache away. I felt much better.

When Dan got home from the gym, I did some laundry and then went we watched Once Upon a Time. Tonight's episode was good... I really think the Frozen theme is a bit too prominent, but I also think that the Little Bo Peep thing was great. I love when they bring in OTHER characters, even for small parts. Maybe they can expend on it in the future. Which remind me... WHAT EVER HAPPENED TO CINDERELLA!?

Anyway, now it's time for bed! After a fun and exciting weekend...it's back to work in the morning!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com