Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 06, 2014 - 10:25 p.m.
"the pressure relief valve" or "not october weather"

Hey Journal!

WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON WITH THIS WEATHER!? It was absolutely freezing this morning. When I got out of bed I felt like we were in an igloo! It was terrible! I had one of those moments where you don't even want to take your pajamas off to get dressed... and my teeth were chattering!

We resolved to turn the heat on for the first time tonight, but then Dan backed out. He insisted that it was fine... and it's chilly now, but I have this horrible feeling that tomorrow morning is going to be freezing!

Anyway, once I had reluctantly gotten dressed this morning, I headed off to work. I left a little earlier than usual because I wanted to get there to turn on the heat if it was freezing inside. When I arrived, it actually wasn't too bad inside, so we decided to test out the heat in the afternoon.

The morning was good, I worked on some random stuff from the weekend and got everything in order.

Later in the afternoon, once the outing had gone out, I went upstairs to start testing the heat. I called the alarm company and took the system offline, and then I went to blast the heat. Usually, the first time we put the heat on each year, the fire alarms go off because there's dust in the system that burns up. It's no big deal, but it usually doesn't smell too good for the first half hour or so. Just this weekend, I turned the heat on in the Golf Shop and the alarm went off, so I was expecting some more of that.

After I had turned on all the units, I decided to go down to the basement to make sure everything was running. I checked the one in the closet in the bag storage room, and then I went to check the one that's in Mike's workshop area. When I opened the door, a giant cloud of smoke/steam puffed out and it was HOT inside! I could see water all over the floor... and I had NO IDEA what was going on! It smelled terrible.

I ran upstairs and called Dan's dad who was out on the golf course. I told him that we had an emergency and to get in as soon as he could. Then I tried to turn off the heat... but my phone wasn't responding, and the app couldn't connect to the system!

I was thinking that it must have been something that happened when I turned the heat on, but it turned out to be completely unrelated! Here's what really happened.... One of the boilers had overheated or the pressure was too high and hot, 160 degree water was pouring out of the pressure relief valve! The water was making all the steam and the weird smell was from the dust and the concrete getting all wet and weird. It was INSANE. When we opened the door again, Dan's Dad and Steve went in and we turned off the three units. They were all set at 160 and we turned them down as low as they could go. Steve unplugged the unit and also cut off the water supply to it. Then we got a bucket to start collecting the water and stop it from pouring out all over the floor!

Once the situation was somewhat under control, we called Mike and the plumber to get things figured out. What a mess! It's just really a good thing that I DIDN'T test the heat in the morning because then I would have had no reason to open the door to that room in the afternoon, and we probably wouldn't have realized that boiling water was all over until it started to seep out into the hallway!!

On the bright side, the heaters all worked perfectly and didn't set off any fire alarms! Nice.

After that fiasco, I had a hamburger for lunch and before I knew it, it was time to come home.

I left at 5 and had to bring Dan's brother home. Dan met his dad at Home Depot on the way home to pick up our housewarming present... a barbecue grill! Wahoo!! Very exciting.

I was going to meet them there, but by the time I would have gotten there it just wouldn't have made any sense. I came home and then shortly after, they arrived with the grill. We unloaded it from the car and then brought it to the back patio! We put it in place and set up all the stuff! Very nice! It looks really snazzy out there!

We're going to figure out where to get a propane tank and how to get that all set up soon... then we're going to try our luck with grilling!!!

Dan headed off to the gym and I hit the treadmill.

-Gym- Report:
2 miles on the Treadmill in 24 minutes

I pushed myself a little to make sure I could do my two miles in 24 minutes.... I really think that's pretty good, and if I could do that consistently, I would be really happy with myself. However, doing that takes a lot of work. I suppose I just have to keep at it and then maybe one day it will be easier!

I took a shower and then did some laundry before Dan got home. When Dan arrived, he brought a pizza for dinner and we ate and watched Friday's Shark Tank.

Now we're just getting ready for bed and we should be off to sleep soon!

I hope it's a little warmer tomorrow, but I don't have any reason to believe it actually will! This is mid-November weather! What the heck is it doing in early October!? (Last year's Spooky Walk was warmer than this!!)

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com