Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 13, 2014 - 12:14 a.m.
"first time for heat" or "the return of the knave"

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up at 9:30 when Dan's phone rang. It was the delivery people with the new furniture! They had said they would arrive between 10 and 3 when they called yesterday, but they were running ahead of schedule!

It was good because we didn't want to have to sit here waiting until 3pm, but at the same time, I would have loved to have slept a little later, too!

Three guys came and unwrapped our furniture and brought it inside! They assembled the ottoman, and it was pretty quick. It's pretty easy to get it into the room, so I'm sure that made it quicker, too. Before they got here, Dan and I moved the other couches into the living room.

Once the guys left, we had to tweak it a little. The put the couch kinda crooked and also the feet of the couch were all turned the wrong way! It was weird.

We got dressed and then headed out to do use some of our gift cards. I needed to get contact solution at Price Club so we went over that way....while we were there, we went to Home Goods to try to use our gift card. They didn't have anything that appealed to us, but I'm sure we will find something eventually. The thing about Home Goods is that they have a TON OF CRAP but every now and then you find something great....so you just have to keep your eyes open and keep checking!

After that, we decided to go to the Target... the OTHER Commack Target.... Commack South. Now, this Target is pretty big... I think it's bigger than our Commack store, but it's SOOOO GHETTO! It's got a really old-fashioned design... the signs are all old, and the food section is weird!!! REALLY WEIRD.... they have little freezers and fridges with all the stuff in them instead of normal grocery-store like ones.

We wanted to go there, though, because we were hoping they might have a couple of different selections of stuff (maybe even on Clearance) so we figured we'd give it a shot.

We had like one thing in mind that we wanted to get but we wound up going CRAZY! We found a ton of good clearance stuff. They had a lot of summer clearance left, where our regular store has none! We got tiki torches, weed killer, and a hose. We also got a deck box that was 50%off. It's regularly $75 and that's really excessive... On clearance it was much more reasonable! For the house, we got a nice bench that may or may not fit near the front door (but either way, we'll find a place for it.)

We also got some lights for Halloween. They had orange ones that were $12 a box for 60 lights. We got two boxes of orange and two of purple for a total of $48 in lights. When we were leaving, we spotted Target brand lights for only 3.50 a box for 100 lights each! We got them both to try them out, but decided to keep the cheaper ones. MUCH CHEAPER.

Later, when I went back to our Target, I got a couple more boxes of the cheaper ones and then also saw the Round Up weed killer which was NOT on clearance there. Ridiculous.

Anyway, after we loaded up the car we headed to Price Club. I got my contact solution and then we headed home.

My mom brought over some Halloween decorations and then she checked out our new couch. Dan and I hung around for a while and then at 4:00 Jimmy and Chelsea came over. I was out at Target (the second trip I mentioned before) when they arrived, and when I got back I just finished putting up the lights on the porch and then we went out to KPPC to take a walk around.

They enjoyed checking out the abandoned buildings and surroundings, and we walked over to see the view of Connecticut and the sunset!

After that we went to Miller's Ale House for dinner and for Dan and Jimmy to watch the football game. I was super hungry because I thought Jimmy and Chelsea were coming earlier for lunch and never ate anything since breakfast. I got chicken parm and we hung out for a while. Jimmy's sister came, too.

There was a guy sitting at the table next to us who looked SUPER familiar. I couldn't place if I knew him from a store... (Like maybe he works at Target and I always see him there....) or if he was a friend's brother. I don't know. I never figured it out, but he was sitting right across from me so it was driving me crazy!

The Giants were losing pretty badly so we left at halftime.... around 10:30. We got home and I took a shower and we watched Once Upon a Time!

Tonight was the RETURN OF THE KNAVE!! Even though he had only a small part in tonight's episode, I hope he has a much bigger role!

Today was also the first time we turned the heat on in the house! It was so chilly inside, and we put it on pretty low. I wanted to leave it on during the day to make sure it was all working well before we went to sleep!

Now we're ready for bed! Tomorrow is Columbus Day so we have off! WOO HOO! We're going to work on our blinds in the bedroom and just have a nice, relaxing day!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com