Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 18, 2014 - 12:46 a.m.
"re's birthday dinner"

Hey Journal!

Happy Friday!!

This morning I got to work a little after 9:00 and the cleaning lady came in to clean the office. She has been wearing sorta inappropriate shirts the past few days and today was just completely over the top! It said "I LOVE STAR WARS" in giant letters and there was a huge picture of a stormtrooper on it! I mean, it IS a private club.... you can't wear stuff like THAT to work! I asked Jackie to tell her that she has to wear something a little nicer... something with a collar... nothing too fancy, but just not so casual!

Then, around 11:00, I went out to Cablevision to exchange our last remaining SD cable box for and HD one! Steve's office had the last remaining old school TV and just the other day he asked me to get a new, inexpensive, flat screen! I got a great sale at Target and picked up a 24 inch for $149!

The Cablevision place is right around the corner and I was in an out in a few minutes.

I got back to work and hooked everything up. It took about 15 minutes for the box to download all the software updates and then it was all set! I was going to get a new mounting bracket... or actually use one that we had bought a couple of years ago for something else but never opened or used.... but with needing a place to put the box anyway, I think we should just keep the old one. I had to kinda rig it so that the strap would secure it, but it's all good now!

The rest of the day was a little boring. Steve called to say he wasn't coming in today, and nothing out of the ordinary happened. I did have one member call trying to find every possible
angle to save money on his dues. He tried referral discounts for people he hadn't referred, he tried to switch to Weekday, but we don't allow it, he was unreal!

Then I had one more weird phone call... a member who wanted to resign but claimed he had never heard that he had to be put on a waiting list to receive his refund. Unreal! He was so nasty, too. Not that it makes any difference.

For lunch today, Dan's Dad ordered six plain chicken wings, and since the normal order comes with 8, he got 8. I had two of them, and they were fantastic! I loved it so much that I had to order them for myself! I ate 7 of my own... and then I gave the last one to Dan's dad since I was so full! Meanwhile, now I am excited because I never thought to get that as a lunch... and I now have another option. More variety!

I left work at 5 and headed home. Dan went out to the gym and I watched World News and took a shower to get ready to go out to celebrate Re's birthday! As Dan's dad called it, "the celebration of life."

At 8:00, we left here and headed for Huntington. We had dinner at Pancho Villa, and when we arrived almost everyone else was there except for the birthday girl, herself and Lau and Ryan who were delivering her!

We hung out in the bar area for a little while before being seated in the main restaurant. I had figured we would be in that back room where we were last time, but this time we were in the front. It was a nicer table than last time. This was only the second time I've been to Pancho Villa... two years ago was the first time. I looked back at my old Journal entry to find out what I thought of the Arroz con Pollo. I was not extremely convinced that I should order it again based on my review, but I gave it a go anyway. It was actually better than last time. The rice tasted good... the only complaint I have is that there was too much dark meat chicken. It was mostly white, but there were some big weird dark pieces.

Oh, and one more weird thing... they put this strange lemon / onion piece garnish on top. Weird.

Lau, JC, and I shared a pitcher of frozen strawberry margaritas. They were good, and the second one I had was much stronger than the first. The margaritas were surprisingly chunky.
(I'm taking copious notes so I'll know if we ever go back.)

After we ate, we hung out outside for a while talking and then we decided to hit up some bars. A lot of people left at that point, but we figured we'd go to at least the first bar. Unfortunately, they had a $5 cover "for the DJ." Umm... you realize that makes no sense at all! I don't give a shit about the DJ... I'd prefer you just put on the radio! lol

As a result we hung out outside for a while, and figured they may not be there that long. After about 45 minutes we felt like it was getting late and we were tired, so we headed home.

We are just gonna watch a little Shark Tank and then get to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com