Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 14, 2014 - 10:15 p.m.
"warm weather is back...for now" or "electric bill"

Hey Journal!

This morning I was pretty tired when it was time to get up for work. I got to bed WAYYYY too late yesterday!

Dan and I got ready for work and then I headed off. There was a little bit of traffic today on the Northern State... and it seems like my car gets the best gas mileage in traffic. If I just zip home from work, I get worse mileage than when I'm in stop and go! I think it's because the car uses only the battery when I'm creeping along.

I was tired all morning so I was moving a little slower than I would have liked. At 10:30 a woman and a mechanic from a local elevator repair company came to check out our elevator so they could propose a service contract for us. The problem is that we NEVER ever call for help with our elevator. It never needs anything... they just come once every few months to make sure it's working properly. They charge so much, so now that our contract is expiring, we wanted to look out there for a better price.

One company came over on Friday and the guy was kinda sketchy.... these people today seemed much nicer! I really liked them... now we just have to see the price! The man today said our elevator is in excellent condition... he said all the mechanics are perfect, nothing is broken or looks like it needs attention. Just the way I like it.

The rest of the work day went by quickly. Steve didn't come in today and it was relatively quiet.

I left work at 5 and headed home and there was absolutely no traffic on the road today. Dan and I got home at almost the exact same time. I brought home some stuff for Dan that had been stored here at work... when I got my new car, and we were getting ready to move, I packed up the stuff from my truck and put it in the basement at work. Dan needed some gloves to do gardening, and they were in there...and I finally remembered to bring them home!

Dan headed off to the gym and I worked on putting the blinds up. This time the screwdriver was all charged up and ready to go. I got them all set up and then I couldn't resist trimming one of them. I know I have never had good luck trimming blinds in the past. When I did it in my old bedroom I cut them too short and they looked stupid, so I took extra care this time and even left a couple of extra slats to make sure that even if I didn't do it 100% right that it wouldn't look terrible.

Luckily I did a good job and it came out pretty nice. I don't know... I kinda like the look of it with the extra at the bottom, but I suppose it's not supposed to be like that. I didn't trim the ones on the second window... I just left that the way it was.

It's wild though, with the blinds the room looks complete! It looks so much better than it had looked. Dan and I actually don't know if we're going to put up curtains. I like the idea of the curtains blocking out the light, but the room is even darker than our current room and I think it may actually look nicer without curtains. (Not to mention it would save us over $200!)

Speaking of money...we got our first electric bill today! I was really nervous because I had no idea what to expect. It was $149 which I was actually relieved at. At our old place, in the summer with the AC on it was about $120. In the winter, approximately $60. This includes a big period of time with the pool filter on and the AC, so I'm kinda happy with that. I'm interested to see what it's like next month, through the winter, and next summer. (So basically I need to wait a while to see exactly what I think!)

I just know I was afraid of a $500 bill, and this was much better.

After I was done with the blinds I got on the treadmill. I went a little slower than usual and I also had to stop early because Dan and I wanted to go pick up pizza...

-Gym- Report:
1.5 miles on the Treadmill in 23mins

Dan got home as I was finishing up and he got showered up. Then I took my shower and we went to pick up pizza from a place in Kings Park next to the Professor's. It was good pizza. Usually they have some eye candy working there, but there was a serious void tonight.

When we got back home, we had our pizza and then we took a walk around outside. It was SUCH a beautiful night! It was like 8:00 and it was warm and I had shorts and a short sleeved shirt. I loved it. This past week has been so freezing cold and I've hated it... it was so nice to have normal weather again!

We walked around the block... about 15 minutes... and then returned home. Dan watched some hockey game on TV and then we watched our Tuesday night shows. We watched The Flash and then SHIELD.

I was sooo exhausted while we were watching TV, I almost fell asleep... and then afterwards I feel asleep on the couch while Dan finished watching the game he was watching before. Now we're off to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com