Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 25, 2014 - 12:30 a.m.
"spooky walk: an annual tradition"

Hey Journal!

I can't believe it's already time for another Spooky Walk! It feels like it couldn't possibly have been a year since the last one!!!!

This morning I was surprised when I got up and it was still raining outside. I thought it was supposed to stop overnight! It wound up stopping around 12:00 and then it got pretty nice out.

Nothing noteworthy happened at work today. For lunch I had the steak sandwich and then I wound up leaving at 3:30 because Dan's dad was having car troubles. In the morning his car was bucking and making weird noises so he brought it to be fixed. It was ready to be picked up, so we left and I dropped him off at the Ford place.

After that, I went to the brand new Target in Sayville. I had to get some Halloween lights because now I have a 25% off Cartwheel for them!! Wahoo! That's almost a dollar off each one! Great savings!

I also picked up some lemonade pouches which suddenly seem to be making a comeback. It was so weird that they didn't have them all summer long.

I got home around 5:00 and Dan's mom called because there was a problem at work with one of the heaters. After some investigation over the phone we figured out that it wasn't actually the heating unit, but the pump next to it that is supposed to catch overflow or something.

Anyway, Dan got home from work at 5:30 and then headed off to the gym. I tried to clean up around the house a little and then I got out my warm clothes for Spooky Walk! The annual dilemma is always what the wear! How cold is it? How cold will it be? How many layers? Hat? Gloves? It's a mess.

As usual, I packed a bag with all my warm stuff and figured I could decided when we arrived. We were going a little later than usual because Linda had an appointment. We picked up Liz at 7:45 and then headed out. The plan for Linda and Dan to arrive at the same time as us...8:30. Liz, Dan, and I made excellent time and we arrived just before 8:30. We were worried about arriving too late and missing the 9:00 cut-off!

Kelly and a friend of hers came, too, and they were already there when we arrived. It wasn't freezing cold out this year, but it was a little chillier than in some recent years. I went for an extra shirt under my hoodie and I brought my winter hat. I wound up not needing the gloves.

There was absolutely NO line at all tonight. We walked right up to the entrance. We went in at 8:48, and our total walk time was 33 minutes. That's significantly lower than other years, but I don't know if it's just because there was never a wait at any of the houses or if there was one less house!

The woods were good this year... my favorite were these two people who were just laying on the ground.... and like crawled up to us covered in mossy stuff.... they blended right in!

The pirate area was quick, but always a favorite. The first house was a Psychiatric Center and it was good, but there was a lot of wasted space and a couple of areas with just an empty bed and nothing going on. The other houses were better, I thought...especially the clown house!

I went first and the guy slammed the door behind me! It was crazy....I was all alone! I had to keep going, but eventually I found a place to stop and wait for everyone else to catch up!

I would have to say that my favorite house was Club Boogie! Always wild! So random! I love how random the mix of costumes are, and how everyone is just DANCING! Why not!? Olaf was there, too!! He was under a little wedding arch thing, and we all took pictures with him! I always love his appearance every year!

The caboose was out of commission again this year... I guess I see why, but I always have fond memories of it.

After we were done, we were going to go to the Sea Cove (the official restaurant of Spooky Walk,) but Linda wanted to get margaritas, so we went to Applebee's. Dan and I got dinner and everyone else got appetizers. We hadn't eaten anything so we were super-hungry!

I can't believe not only has another Spooky Walk come, but it has already gone! Time just flies!

We dropped Liz off at home and then we got home, I took a shower, and then we watched Shark Tank! I was falling asleep a little during the show so I really need to get to bed now!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com