Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 25, 2014 - 10:45 p.m.
"unexpected meeting at target" or "chicken pot pie dinner party"

Hey Journal!

This morning when Dan and I got up we watched a couple of episodes of Saved by the Bell that were on TV, and then Dan took a walk all the way into Kings Park to get something to eat for breakfast! I wasn't so ambitious, so I didn't join him. I had Cheerios for breakfast instead!

While Dan was gone I spent a while cleaning things up. We decided we needed to straighten up and we wanted to make things look presentable for when Dan, Jackie, and Evelyn came over tonight for dinner!

The past few weeks we have been looking for someone to winterize our sprinkler system, and Dan had called two different places. First, he called the people that the sellers told us had done it for them. He left several messages and nobody ever called him back. Their name was "Friends." I guess they don't want to be friends after all! We also called the people that Dan's parents use. They quoted us a price of $75!!! That's RIDICULOUS!

We had gotten a coupon in the mail a few weeks ago from a place that said they would do it for $50, and we were leaning towards calling them, but on his way home, Dan saw a truck doing it for a house down the street. He went over and asked them how much they charged, and the guy gave him a business card and told him he would have to call the office. Dan called the office, and they told us $50! We said okay, and they were here in about 15 minues! Niceeeee!

The way I see it, they were here for less than 10 minutes! Even at $30 they would be stupid not to say yes.... they are right on the street, and to pick up an extra $50 that they would never have had is like pennies from heaven for them!!

When Dan got home he cleaned up the kitchen and I continued cleaning up the rest of my stuff.

After we had finished up and gotten ready we headed out to Target. We had a ton of bottles to return so we did that, then the had some things to return, I had to go to the bathroom, and Dan wanted to get a drink. I was feeling hungry, so I had a Target pizza, and then we did our lap around the store.

Now here's where the day took a completely unexpected turn! We were perusing the home section looking for a possible end table for our family room and when we turned the corner we spotted Kristen's mom! It's been quite a while since we've seen Kristen (or her mom.) In fact, it's been 7 days short of 1 year!! We always had said there was a good chance we could run into her somewhere, and I wasn't sure what to expect when it would happen, but this definitely wasn't it. At first, we only saw her mom, and then Kristen was a few aisles over and she came over to say hi. We talked for a little while, and caught up on what had happened in the year since we last saw eachother. The most notable occurrence, of which, is that she and Don are getting a divorce! I was shocked to hear that, and didn't see that coming at all!

It's really a shame that we hadn't seen her/them for so long. To this day I don't know why that happened, and why, if clearly she/they were so upset with us for something, that after being such good friends for so long she wouldn't have brought it to our attention and said something like, "this really upset me and I wanted to let you know because it bothered me, and I couldn't not say it... but our friendship is important to me, so I wanted to let you know how I felt."

But, that didn't happen and now here we are, one year later, and so much has happened. But so much is still the same, so even though there was no mention of the whatever it was that was so unspeakable that we could no longer be friends, I feel like it's the right thing to do to put the past behind us. And maybe things won't be exactly like they were before, but to not at least give try again is something I wouldn't feel comfortable about.

Anyway, after talking for a while (and me knocking a clock off the shelf and basically launching it at Kristen,) we said goodbye and continued our shopping. We were on a tight schedule to get everything we needed for tonight and then get home to start cooking!

Noteworthy is that every cashier (and the girl at customer service) today at Target was new! Where did all these new people come from! I know they probably are hiring for the upcoming Holiday season but NONE of the usuals were there! What the heck!?

After we left Target we hurried over to ShopRite and got the chicken and a few other ingredients we needed. We forgot the onion, so Dan ran back to get it. While I was sitting in my car, this woman pulled up and her car was smoking and green liquid was oozing out the front! She was unaware, picked up her baby, and went shopping! I wrote a note on a napkin and we stuck it on her windshield! Yikes!

When we got home we prepared the food and Dan cooked the chicken for the pot pies. I got all the ingredients measured out and ready to go.

Dan went to the gym and while he was gone I got started making the inside of the pot pie. When Dan got back, it was almost completely done. He jumped in the shower and when he got out he helped me pour the insides from the pot into the pies. We covered them up and popped them in the over around 6:00.

Dan, Jackie, and Evelyn were supposed to arrive at 6:30 but came a little closer to 7. We hung out, and then had dinner pretty soon because the pies took about 35 minutes to cook and about 15 minutes to cool off.

We had a fun time, the pot-pies were good and a big hit! Even Evelyn loved to eat the peas out of it!

We talked for a while, watched an episode of TaleSpin, and then we had dessert! Entenmann's cake!

Evenly was super-cute as always, but she was getting pretty tired! They left around 9:30, and Dan and I relaxed and watched TV.

We also played a game on my phone with the hue lights! You have to tap the color on the phone that the lamp turns to! It's wild!

Anyway, now we're going to watch HTGAWM! Can't believe we waited this long to watch it!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com