Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 26, 2014 - 10:20 p.m.
"canon family fall festival"

Hey Journal!

Today we got up at 8:45 to get ready and go to the Canon Family Fall Festival! I was super-excited because I had never been there before, and usually visitors aren't allowed to go upstairs, so I've never had an opportunity to see where Dan works! However, for the Fall Festival, visitors were allowed to tour the building, see the office, and even go to the fifth floor to see the executive office, the board room, and conference rooms!

On the way we stopped to get some breakfast at McDonald's. I got the hot cakes... no sausage. We got there a little early, and they were very specific about the gates not being open until 9:45, so we drove around for a bit before headed in.

At 9:45, we returned and parked in the parking garage. Dan showed me where he usually parks, and then we went inside. We had to check in at the registration desk and we already had wristbands, so we were good to go! Dan took me to see his desk and his work area. It's so funny because even though I had seen a picture of his desk and area, I had no idea what it really looked like and how it was set up. It was nice to see everything and now when he tells stories about it, I'll actually be able to picture what he's talking about.

We walked to the other side of the floor and saw where Jimmy's desk is, and it's funny because all of the areas look so much alike! I could see it being easy to get lost and not know which section you're in!

We did a quick walk through of the fifth floor, but the lights weren't on and I don't think they were ready yet. We were actually the first people to come through the registration and the girl didn't even know what she was supposed to do to check us in!

We headed downstairs and went to the Showroom where we found Jimmy and Chelsea! That was pretty cool. We checked out all of the products! It's so wild how there are things from regular cameras to video camera to TV cameras, little calculators, business copiers, and then giant medical equipment! The best part of the medical equipment was that they had like a little baby door inside an incubator!

They also had a display case with the history of Canon cameras! The first one they ever made was called the Kwanon! Weirrrrrd!

Next we went to get our pictures taken with big bales of hay and scarecrows. I wanted to get a group photo with Jimmy and Chelsea, but we ended up doing separates. In one I stuck my tongue out accidentally! I didn't realize he was going to take the picture at that moment! Then Jimmy closed his eyes for one of their pictures! So funny.

Next we went back up to the fourth floor and checked out Dan's desk and Jimmy's desk. Jimmy gave me this amazing little bean-bag in the shape of a copy machine thing that he had on his desk. It's really cool.

We went back up to the fifth floor and checked out the executive area. This time the lights were on and the board room was open! It was wild!

Next we went to the cafe to have some food. We got some cookies and ice cream. I really liked the sugar cookies.... they were excellent. I had orange juice and apple juice and then we checked out the "Customer Care Center" which is a place where people can bring their cameras to get fixed or to learn about new products.... or something like that!

There was this one kid there who was wearing an inflatable godzilla costume and it was the most amazing costume I've ever seen! We crossed paths with him about three or four times and every time it was hysterical! The way he walked, the way the costume bounced around... I only wish I had this costume for myself! It was so funny!

We went to the lobby and then Jimmy and Chelsea departed. Dan and I went back inside, did another walk through the showroom and then went upstairs to use the bathroom before departing!

As we were leaving the building, we passed the CEO! He's pretty cool. I wanted to get him the autograph my program for the event! Oh, and we also saw my Grandma's friend's daughter. She was running the event and stuff. We left through the pumpkin patch and we took one little pumpkin for our porch! :)

It went pretty quickly but it was so much fun! I really enjoyed seeing where Dan works and now I feel like I know a little more about what he does each day at work! Also, the building is really nice, really new, and cool!

After we left, we stopped over to say hi to my Grandma and Grandpa. My Aunt Regina was also over but just leaving when we arrived.

My Grandma had a long list of things for me to fix... the front door, the answering machine, the blinds, a lightbulb...

We weren't there too long and then we went to the mall. We saw my mom there...she was shopping with Alexandra. Dan got a shirt on Clearance in Abercrombie and then we headed home.

On the way home we picked up some more of our boxes from Dan's parents' house and then got some pizza from Domino's. We ordered online and I was really impressed with their App that shows the progress of your order. I was impressed, that is, until we got there and they had no idea about our order. They guy thought we had come to the wrong store and then after showing him the app, which clearly had the address of the Domino's in Smithtown.... he realized he had not seen the order and therefore never made it. I was disappointed in the app, however, because it said that the order was received... that the order was being prepared, and then that it was ready for pickup. But..... it wasn't!

After some waiting, we got our pizza and then headed home. We got home, ate, and then watched some Rosanne. They were playing all of the Halloween episodes.

Dan went to the gym around 6 and then I did some laundry and took a shower. Dan got home, showered up, and we had some leftover chicken pot pie for dinner.

We just watched Once Upon a Time and I'm a little confused about what exactly is going on. I think next week is going to be really revealing... although we won't be home... so we won't see it for two weeks! How is the Snow Queen Emma's foster mother and WHY does she have no recollection of this!? Very weird!

Now we're just getting ready for bed! Back to work tomorrow.... we have a small outing and Dan's parents are still away in Montauk...so it should be pretty quiet for me in the office.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com