Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 29, 2014 - 10:27 p.m.
"philadelphia run"

Hey Journal!

What a weird day today! I got up at 4:35am to get ready to take my Grandma and Grandpa to Philadelphia for an eye doctor appointment. They arrived a little earlier than they had planned, but we left on time... at 4:50!

We made excellent time going there... we didn't hit any traffic and there were no problems at all! The Jersey Turnpike was smooth sailing, and we only made one stop at the Thomas Edison service area!

We arrived at exactly 7:30 and we took the elevator up to the hospital. My Grandma sent me down to buy her some coffee and then I just hang out in the waiting room. The other two times I've brought them there I took a walk around the city and went to do some sightseeing. Today I really wasn't in the mood and we had just been to Philadelphia in August with Re, so I felt like we had done and seen all the things we wanted then.

I put my jacket over my head and tried to sleep a little. I was exhausted. I was able to doze off a little but then some REALLY LOUD asshole guy came in the office and was making a huge production. He was talking to his wife really loudly and then screaming on the phone to someone about ticks, going to the emergency room, and other things. He was just so loud and obnoxious and he looked like a disheveled hillbilly. Then, once he finally shut his mouth, his wife took out a laptop and proceeded to type as loud as anyone could possibly type on a laptop. I've really never heard anything like it... but I was so not surprised.

We left the office at almost exactly 10:30. It was nice and quick, and everything was good with my Grandpa. They said he was fine and that he has to come back a year from now.

I'm really surprised that there are no other eye doctors closer to home that can do the same thing. It just seems really weird that there would be nobody competent to do this in New York City or Long Island. Oh well.

On the way home we stopped at Cracker Barrel to get some food. I was so hungry and really craving the pancakes at Cracker Barrel.

Out waitress was a little weird... she was very fast and abrupt. When the food came, my Grandma asked for two cups of tea, and she had turned and left the table before my Grandma was even finished asking. I thought maybe she didn't hear her... but sure enough, she brought it out. Then she went to hand the check to my Grandma but realized she didn't put the tea on it, so she snatched it back. It wasn't really that bad, but it was strange.

After we left, we had smooth sailing on the New Jersey Turnpike. We didn't have one bit of traffic, and everything was great. We went over the Goethals Bridge, and then just before the Verrazano, we hit one little blip of traffic. That lasted about 2 minutes, and as soon as we passed the accident, we had no trouble until we crossed the bridge. Up to this point I was soooo happy with how fast we were going and the trip had been great. As soon as we got off the bridge there was a HUGE backup. I checked on Waze and it said there was an accident about 1/2 a mile down on the road and that it had happened just a few minutes earlier.

We were stuck. They closed down the road for a while and nobody could move. Finally they opened two lanes out of three, but that took forever as everyone had to make their way around the car that was stuck sideways in the middle of the road. There was a funeral procession next to us and at one point a woman got out of her car and gave cookies to the people in front of her!

Finally, we passed that but our troubles weren't over yet. On the Southern State they were doing construction and there was bad traffic there, too. We diverted to the Meadowbrook and took the Northern State. In the end, we made it home at 3:00 on the dot. If you subtract one hour for Cracker Barrel, it took us 3.5 hours. Probably an hour longer than it should have.

When I got home I was exhausted. I headed inside and put on my pajamas. I put Reba on TV and curled up for a nap. I slept until 5:30 when Dan got home and then I woke up and watched the news.

Dan went to the gym and I was half-asleep and feeling weird after my nap for a while.

When Dan got home we got showered up and then had some dinner. I just had a TV dinner. We must still have one or two old ones in the freezer because this one had the WEIRD mashed potatoes that are kinda watery and gross. They switched to those for a while and then went back to the good ones.

Anyway, I just spent some time packing for our trip! I have a lot more to do but it was nice to get something done.

I'm glad I was able to nap for about 2 hours... that will help me get back to a more normal schedule tomorrow. Tomorrow will be busy because we have to pack and Friday is Halloween! I can't wait to see just how many trick-or-treaters we get and I want to go see Linda's new house that they are closing on Friday. It's going to be crazy! And we have to get up super early on Saturday for our flight!!

Well, just thinking about all that is making me tired! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com