Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 10, 2014 - 11:14 p.m.
"the flood sensor"

Hey Journal!

Back to work today! When I woke up I was soooo not in the mood. I was a little slow at getting ready, but eventually got myself out the door. I stopped at the PO Box to pick up the ton of mail that was waiting for me and then I arrived to work around 9:15.

I was all by myself for the morning... we were completely closed. Dan's dad is away hunting, and Steve came in around 12:00. He left around 3, so it was pretty quiet.

I was able to get through most of the stuff that was left on my desk from the week I was away.... there's still some stuff lingering, but nothing important.

Around 2:00, I went out to the security company we use here to pick up something I had ordered for myself. As you know, I've been getting all sorts of security stuff to add to the security system we have at home and for the most part it's really easy to get this stuff cheaply online, but one thing I wanted wasn't. It's a "Flood Detector" which you can install in the basement near the washing machine (or by the water heater) and if any water were to leak on the floor, the alarm would sound.

I found it online, and some places had it cheaper than others, but the ones with the low prices charged high shipping and the ones with free shipping had high prices! The average I was able to find online was about $60-$70. Then I got the idea to call the woman I always call for work. She had never heard of the exact model of system we have but she said she would look into ordering it. She told me that a supplier of theirs had the part and it would cost $50. She charged me their cost, and I was super-happy!

Anyway, I went there this afternoon to pick it up!

Karen stopped by the office today to drop off some cash for a church sale. I hadn't seen her in a long time!

I left work at 4:30 because I had to bring Dan's mom's golf clubs home to her! She had forgotten them here and needed them tomorrow.

When I got home, I installed the sensor to our system and then waited for Dan to get home to test it out. We put it on a plate and then poured a cup of water onto the plate! Sure enough, it set off the alarm! NICEEEE!

It's currently set up NOT to report to central station, but tomorrow I'm going to make it report. I just wanted to give it a little while to make sure it wasn't sending a false alarm.

Dan went to the gym and I vacuumed the floors upstairs. When I was done I was walking down the stairs and caught a glimpse of some dust... I got the swiffer and went over all the areas I had just vacuumed... it was ridiculous how much came up! What the heck! I never realized just how much the vacuum misses. <3 Swiffer.

Anyway, I took a shower and then on Dan's way home from the gym he stopped to pick up a pizza. We ordered to the place right nearby that says the accept "all competitor's coupons!" Dan brought a Sundried Tomato Coupon for $2.00 off.

Now, before I continue, let me preface this by saying that this pizza place ALWAYS has $2 off coupons in the little magazine things, but we couldn't find any of the circulars. There are also a bunch of other pizza places in the area that have the same coupon. So this place is already comfortable with giving $2 off. Dan goes in and gives his coupon and they tell him they only honor coupons in from other places in Kings Park. What a sham! Dan was like, "Oh, okay..." and turned around to leave. The girl asks him, "You don't want your pizza?" He says, "No, thanks."

We went to the another nearby place and got the pizza for $12. All is well.

We got back, ate our pizza and then watched some YouTube videos of The Price is Right. We watched a couple of people playing Cliff Hanger, and then we watched a great one called "Behind the Scenes" where they showed you exactly how the taping goes and it's SOOOO accurate... it really gives you a great sense of what it's like to be there!

Before bed we watched one episode of Homeland and now we have one more to go before we are caught up!

It's a little late so we'd better get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com