Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 11, 2014 - 10:57 p.m.
"magic kingdom" or "hollywood studios: the spectacle of dancing lights"

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up at 8:30 and we got ready to head off to the Magic Kingdom! Today will probably be our last trip to Magic Kingdom for this trip...so we had some last rides to do and to say our goodbyes!

The weather today was pretty much exactly the same as yesterday. It was chilly in the morning, acceptable in the afternoon, and then cold again at night!

Our first FastPass was for Peter Pan's Flight which we hadn't gotten to ride yet. It was already time to use it when we arrived, so we headed over there and got right on!

We figured we'd stay in the area and next we went on Its a Small World! There was a little backup with the boats towards the end and we wound up sitting in the same spot for about 3 minutes. It was great! I know most people get annoyed when rides stop or they get stuck in one spot for too long, but I love it. I love when Disney rides have little delays like that... It really makes the experience for me!

The woman working the bridge area of the ride was an amazing waver. Her wave was so wild... it was great!

When we were done there we headed over to Pirates of the Caribbean! We had some time to kill before our next FastPass so we did the Swiss Family Treehouse next! Always a strange experience. I don't even know why it's a thing. It's so strange.

Our next FastPass was for the Mine Train! I really feel like they have perfected the FastPass on so many rides... you basically walk right on! It's a great ride but I'd never wait 80 minutes on the standby line for it!

When we were done there we headed back to the circus area. We rode The Barnstormer, and there was no line because it had been closed and was JUST reopening when we arrived. Then we did Dumbo! I haven't been on that ride a lot in the past... I think only once before with Dan. The new setup is kinda cool... It was fun.

Next we did the Peoplemover! Again,what a great ride. It's so random but I love it so much. JUST as we were about to go up the ramp the ride broke down. It came back in about 10 minutes, but we had to stand there waiting. Once again, WHY couldn't that have happend when we were ON the ride. I feel jipped. The girl at the bottom of the ramp, Nadine, told me that it was my fault that the ride broke down! lol

For lunch we went to the Pinocchio Village Haus! Another must-do! It's such a cool little building with such a classic theme. It's so fun. I love the food there, too. I got the meatball sub (which for some reason I always call the Meatball Substitution.) We ate upstairs, and decided to go out on the little balcony. The entire time we were on line, and for about 5 minutes after we got up there, there was nobody else sitting there. As soon as we sat down, people started flocking!

Our final FastPass for the day was Splash Mountain. We had some reservations about riding a WET ride when we were already pretty cold but we went on and hoped for the best. We got the FRONT row of the car, so I was kinda scared. Luckily I had three shirts on, so I was hoping that if anything got wet it wouldn't soak through before I got a chance to shed the outer layer!

Anyway, it wasn't too terrible. The only REAL damage was during the big drop, but I put my hood up as we went down (in fact you can see it on the ride photo!) It was a big spray, but it wasn't bad!

As we were getting off, the train was pulling up to the Frontierland station and we decided to take it to Fantasyland and then walk over to Space Mountain. We were lucky and just made it on the train.

For Space Mountain we used one of our special FastPasses. Two down, one to go. We rode one last time and then said our goodbyes to Magic Kingdom as we walked down Main Street for the last time this trip.

We came back to the hotel and went in the hot tub for a little while, then showered up, and prepared to go to Hollywood Studios to see the Osborne Family Spectacle of Dancing Lights. Frank offered to drive us there so he picked us up at the hotel around 4:00. Since I was so cold last night, I asked him if we could go to Target beforehand. We did, and I got some gloves and ANOTHER hoodie. Another layer was necessary.

We got to Hollywood Studios and then tried to ride Rock N Roller Coaster but the singler rider line was closed and the wait was over and hour.

Instead, we did Star Tours and then checked out the Spectacle of Dancing Lights! It was pretty amazing.... even better than I had remembered from the last time we were here at Christmastime. Santa Goofy was out and we decided to wait on the line to meet him. It took about 25 minutes but it wasn't a big deal...we had nothing else to do and we got to enjoy the lights and music while we waited.

We got some great pictures with Goofy and then we headed over to the ABC Commissary for dinner. I was in luck because they had the famous quickservice New York Strip Steak! So random but so good! (I wasn't a fan of the special butter they put on it tonight, though.)

We hung out there for a while and then at about 7:50, we realized the park was closing in 10 minutes and we hurried over to Rock N Roller Coaster! The single rider line was back open, but the standby had hardly any wait at all, so we did that.

Afterwards, we made our way to Frank's car and he drive us back to the hotel.

Dan and I walked around the hotel a little to check out things here. We saw some animals out on the Savannah even though it was pretty dark. There was even an ostrich!

Now we're just gonna get to sleep... Oh, and here's the weird thing... We got a letter in our room that tonight the Reedy Creek Fire Department (read Disney) will be conducting a test of the electricity and the entire hotel will have no power from 11:30pm to 7:30am! SO STRANGE! I can't even understand this. It's not like our fire departments at home conduct tests that require power outages! I do not understand.

Anyway, I want to go charge up my phone as much as possible so I can use it in the morning!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com