Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 21, 2014 - 10:58 p.m.
"our holiday breakfast" or "holiday light spectacular at jones beach"

Hey Journal!

So, today was our big breakfast! My mom, Grandma, Grandpa, Dan's parents, his brother, and grandma were invited! We had so much to do, and we got up at 8:00.

We finished getting things set up and then we got to work preparing the food. Dan went out to get the bagels and then when he got back we started cooking the bacon and everything.

Before everyone arrived, I cracked 18 eggs and put them in a big bowl, we prepared the sausage to cook in the microwave, and Dan got to work on the bacon. At first we were cooking it on the grill pan and it was coming out good but the grease was splattering everywhere! It was crazy... I went over to help him and I got hit on the eyelid! After that, we decided to play it safe and Dan wore the protective work glasses we have! It was great.

There was so much grease that we decided to try the George Foreman grill. I've never used it, but we've had it for a long time. It was actually a good solution... the grease all dripped out into the catch pan and the bacon came out great!

I think I will use it more often... I don't know exactly for what, but I like it.

Anyway, we made coffee and everyone started arriving at 10:00. My Grandma and Grandpa were first, then my mom, then Dan's parents. Everyone hung out in the living room for a few minutes and then we started the eggs and breakfast commenced!

We did a good job and everyone seemed to enjoy the food and have a good time. It was nice to have everyone over... perhaps this will become a holiday tradition. It's good because breakfast is relatively easy and straightforward. It was a lot of work, but it wasn't terrible. We didn't really get to sit down and enjoy everything, but oh well!

Afterwards, we retired to the living room and everyone hung out there talking for a while. At one point there were some snow flurries that ultimately wound up lasting about 10 minutes, and when Dan's dad said "look, it's snowing..." Dan's grandma was on her feet and ready to leave in a matter of seconds!

Everyone else stayed a while longer, but I think everyone was gone by 1:00. My mom helped us clean up and she did all the kitchen stuff. Cleaned the stove and the counter and the dishes!

I had set the washing machine to go on at about 11:30 so I could put stuff in the dryer when everyone left, so I took care of that, we closed up the folding table and put it, and the chairs, away. Then we vacuumed and we were all done!

Thankfully we had a little time to relax before our next appointment on the schedule!

We watched two episodes of Homeland! The first one we watched was INSANE. We haven't watched for a few weeks so we were JUST at the point where they break into the embassy. The second episode was good, too... not as exciting, though. We have one more to watch now... it was on tonight!

We finished watching Shark Tank and then we had to leave to meet Re at Cheesecake Factory for dinner. We got there at 5:00 and we thought there would be a long wait but I walked right in and got a table! In fact, Dan dropped me off in front so we could get on the list sooner, and I was sitting by the time he found a parking spot.

I had the Crusted Chicken Romano.... it was very enjoyble.

Then after dinner Dan and I went to meet Lau and Ryan to go to the Holiday Light Spectacular at Jones Beach! I can't remember the last time we went... I mean, they haven't done it for several years... but it was a long time ago. It's so weird -- They stopped doing it due to budget cuts... but at $25 a car... there's no way they aren't making money. It's weird.

It was just as I remembered it, and it was pretty cool. I think my favorites were the monkey with the symbols and the 12 Days of Christmas!

We stopped at the Holiday Village, but that was a real bust. There wasn't anything to do or see there... they were just selling hot chocolate and stuff.

Anyway, we had a fun time and I'm glad we went. Now we're home and it's time for bed! I'm exhausted... I can't believe we have work tomorrow... It's not right.. I need more time to catch up on the sleep I haven't gotten all week!!

Oh, well! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com