Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 29, 2014 - 11:24 p.m.
"11 years"

Hey Journal!

So...today is our BIG 11th Anniversary! I can't believe it's been 11 years! I mean, in some ways it seems like it was just yesterday and in some ways... maybe in more ways... it feels like it's been so much longer...so if that's true, then I guess I'm happy that we've done some many amazing things in just 11 years!

The day started out pretty typically... It was Monday and the golf course was completely closed. I got to work and it was quiet... today was Dan's dad's last day of work for two months! I can already feel the peace and quiet sweeping over the office.

Since the restaurant was closed, and they had the hoods being cleaned today, we had nothing to eat for lunch. Dan's dad wanted pizza, so I went to Uncle Joe's to get us some. I got two regular slices and he got two sicilian slices!

Earlier, on the way to work, I had picked up the CPC mail so I spent a while getting that sorted out today. It had been a while since I did all the CPC contracts that had come in, so I wanted to get caught up...especially because the transfer fee is increasing on the first of the year so it was less of a headache to get them done THIS year.

I got a weird letter from a CPC person today... she was complaining...or questioning, why -- since her payments are always on the 29th of each month-- there was no payment coupon for 2/29/15. (Instead, it was set for 3/1/15.) Ummm... Does she really need me to explain that there are not 29 days in February... and so 3/1 is the next day... Weirdo.

The day went by quickly but I had a ton of work to get done. I'm a little swamped with random work now, especially with all the dues coming in and the members resigning at the end of the year.

Dan's dad left at about 3:30 and I hung out till 4:30. Today was his last day at work for almost 2 months! It's going to be a really quiet winter in the office now... Steve will be gone even more than he was last year. And, as I look forward to it now, I know it's going to be over before I know it! Ahhh! There's so much confliction because I want winter to be over and for the weather to get nice again... but at the same time that means that this peaceful time for me will have to go by quickly! Gah!!

After I left work I headed home and stopped at Target to get a card for Dan. When I got home I got ready to go out to dinner. Dan skipped the gym tonight but on his way home he stopped at Pep Boys to get a new light bulb for his tail light which has been out for more than a couple of months. After buying the bulb, he attempted to install it but realized that the original bulb as just loose! So, basically, it was just loose this entire time and there was really never a need to go buy a new one. On the bright side (no pun intended,) he now has two new bulbs for when the next one decides to really go out.

When Dan got home we rummaged through out gift cards and found two older ones for Outback. We headed over to the Commack Outback for dinner.

Surprisingly we had to wait about 15 minutes for a table on a Monday night! I feel like there's always a wait at Outback.. and mostly it's because they never seat all their tables. Possibly a result of bad staffing rather than that they as so in demand.

We had our special 11th Anniversary dinner. We went all out, getting the onion, and some margaritas. It was all good, but just as a note to myself for future reference their margaritas are kinda frothy and I will avoid them in the future.

I got the Outback Special and we had a fun time out. When Dan paid with the gift cards we had, he signed Uluru Kata Tjuta on the receipt. It was written on a sign on the other side of the restaurant and just seemed appropriate!

Anyway, I can't believe it's been 11 years! We had a fun night celebrating, but it's so crazy. We've had so many fun and amazing times together and can only hope that the next 11 years could be as amazing as these.... even though it's hard to believe we could top it all!

We were talking and couldn't believe that we met in December of 2003 and had purchased the co-op only three and a half years later. I know that at the time 3.5 years seemed like forever but it seems like it was so soon now! So wild.

Alas, when we got home from outback we had dessert... Dan had purchased "festive" ice cream sandwiches at Target. They were regular vanilla ice cream sandwiches with red and green sprinkles inside them!

We watched a couple more episodes of Newsroom and I can't believe we're on the last and final season already. Really a great show! After that, we watched tonight's Major Crimes. Dan thinks he's getting a little disinterested in the show, which surprised me... but made me think. I mean, I love all the characters, but I can see how the show may be slowing down from its original amazingness.

Now it's time for bed! It's kinda late...

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com