Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 31, 2014 - 7:37 p.m.
"2014 wrapup"

Hey Journal!

Wow! So here we are on the last day of 2014! I can't believe it's here already...and I also can't believe we have no plans at all for the big night. We don't want to go out anywhere because we don't want to have to drive home after... and we don't really want to do anything crazy. I guess that all adds up to an evening at home.

However, as in previous years, I wanted to write my Journal early tonight... the last one of the year... to recap some of the most amazing things we did this year.

Off the top of my head, I can say that the most exciting thing was finding, buying, and moving in to our new house! We rang in 2014 in Dan's parents' basement and lived there until the end of August when we finally were finally able to close on the house. It's been such a crazy time moving our stuff, getting settled in, and then decorating for Christmas. We're loving it, though.

We went on two really fun vacation... all pretty recently. We saved up all of our time and went after we were settled in the house. California and Disney World! The Price is Right was definitely our highlight of California, but we also saw New Found Glory, and went to Disneyland for one day.

We saw some friends while we were away... JRo in LA, Thom in San Diego, and when we went to Florida we got to see Frank again!

In the summer we went for an extended weekend to Las Vegas for Re's TPT conference! That was exciting and fun, too.

In the fall we went on a fun overnight trip to PA with Linda, Dan, Connor, and Cameron, and stayed in a really great hotel suite.

I also made a return visit to the most fascinating place on Earth, KPPC! It had been over 10 years since I was last there, I think... and it did not disappoint!

Everything else was good, too. I mean, sure there were some not-good things that happened, but I can't really remember them, and thankfully they weren't REALLY bad thing. It was a good year!

We started watching a lot of new TV shows... Scanda, HTGAWM, The Flash, The Newsroom... and I'm sure there are more.

Anyway, we were talking at work the other day about odd and even numbered years. Dan's Dad and Steve said they like even numbered years. I said I prefer odd. Like, going from 2014 to 2015... I'm like.... Yes, I like 2015 already.. I just like the look of 2015. Both Steve and Dan's dad, however, like even numbered years. I was not a fan of "2014" at first.

So, now we begin the struggle of remembering to write /15 instead of /14 for the date. That always takes a few weeks to get right!

Before I sign off... I'll tell you about my New Year's Eve Day.

I got up this morning as usual and headed off to work. I was tired and hungry, so I brought some cereal to work with me.

The day went by quickly and I went to the bank early to make the final deposit of the year. We had a lot of member payments especially since it's Dues season.

After that, I returned and realized that the Scheduled Tasks function on the server had been disabled for over a week. This means that none of the member charges have been updated and some of our reports haven't been running for over a week! BEASTLY!! I had to restart it. Ugh.

The day went by quickly and I departed early. I got home from work a little before 2:00 and Dan and I went for lunch to Martino's in Kings Park. We got pizza and the place was surprisingly crowded. All of the booths filled up while we were sitting there and there were two old people who looked kinda confused, wanted to sit, but then wandered away.

We are having a very small gathering tonight for New Year's Eve... just two Kristen's! We went to Bottle Bargains to get rum. Dan insisted that we had none at home and I told him I was almost certain we had a lot. Turns out we have almost two full bottles, but now we have three!

Next, we went to Target, got some snacks and a few 70% off Christmas items! I'm holding out for 90% and then I'll take whatever they have left!

We stopped at Waldbaum's and a couple of other supermarkets in our travels and we wanted to get those Bacardi frozen drink mixes. Most had them for an exorbitant price but the best was $3 each at the Key Food in KP. They checkout kiosks are wild... "Do you have a Key Food card? Do you have any coupons? Do you have any vouchers?" It was so weird.

Anyway, we came home and watched the last two episodes of The Newsroom! Every time I write that, I always go to say "News Night." I felt like the final two episodes were satisfying in that there were no loose ends, everything made sense, and theres a bright future for all the characters.

When the show was finished, it was about 10 minutes before the new year in London. I put on SkyNews on the AppleTV and we watched them ring in the new year in Central London! It was funny because the crowds there did not look nearly as excited or crazy as the ones in NY do every year. They fireworks were amazing, though!

Now that means we have five hours to go!

Oh, on my way home from work there was a person who misjudged the turn by the railroad tracks and basically started driving on the tracks and then smashed into the big metal box that controls the signals and got stuck in the rocks around the tracks! There were tons of people pulled over and on their phone, I assume calling the police to make sure that trains knew not to come there! What a mess THAT would have been. When we went to get pizza, we passed by and now the police were on the scene and they were pushing the truck out of the rocks and away from any danger of trains!

Alas, now we're just getting ready for the evening. I'm gonna go take a shower and then let the festivities begin!

It's been a great year... Here's to 2015 being just as amazing! :)

Until next year...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com