Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 01, 2015 - 11:36 p.m.
"welcome to 2015"

Hey Journal!

Here we are in 2015! I can't believe it's here already, but it so...and so in keeping with tradition... Happy New Year, cause it's the first day!

So, I was thinking a little more about that lately. I've probably only told the story a couple hundred times since it happened, but on New Year's Day, several years ago, we went to the diner and the waitress wished us "Happy New Year" and then qualified her statement by telling us, "cause it's the first day!"

Today, as I got up, brushed my teeth, and did other random things throughout the day... I couldn't help but thinking "this is the first time I'm [insert activity] in 2015!" Since I was so aware of the firsts that I was having this year, I thought back to "cause it's the first day," and am now thinking deeper.... "Cause it's the first day" can mean so much more... It's so insightful. It's the first day of a new year and you should be happy because it's all a bunch of firsts from here on out, so it let's make the most of it!

Sure, I don't think that's at all what the crazy woman at the diner is... but I'm making it my own.

We woke up this morning around 9:30 and we went out for breakfast with Re. Re had stayed over last night, making her our first overnight house guest in our home! A distinction she should be very proud of.

But wait.... I forgot to kinda recap the New Year's Eve events. At about 8:30 Re arrived and Kristen McD arrived shortly after that. We watched the always entertaining coverage on CNN... Kathy Griffin and Anderson Cooper. It's funny because I had not heard anywhere that they were doing it again, but I totally assumed that it was happening. It's hands down, no contest, the best coverage on New Year's Eve! Channel 7 is a complete joke. You know how much I love ABC, WABC, and the news... but their coverage is horrific. First, Ryan Seacrest is a complete tool. He's terrible and reads almost everything off a teleprompter so he might as well have recorded the show in front of a green screen weeks ago. Then, at the height of the excitement, one hour to midnight, they take a 30 minute break for the local news! WHAT? I mean, that's absurd. Either push the news back until AFTER midnight or just nix it all together on NYE. It makes no sense. (Again, this comes from someone who LOVES Eyewitness News!)

So, we spent our NYE having more biscuits a la carte, made some chocolate chip cookies, had mozzarella sticks, and of course we had some drinks! I made myself some cranberry vodkas in a Hello Kitty cup with a straw. It was perfect. We had purchased the mixes for those frozen drinks but nobody wanted them, so we never made them.

As midnight approached, we watched the ball drop, and it was a good time. We hung out, watched more TV, and then around 1:00 Kristen departed. Re, Dan, and I got ready for bed and then came down to watch two episodes of The Twilight Zone!

I love the Twilight Zone Marathon. The only problem with that show is that so many episodes are really crappy. I mean, it's famous for the few really really good episodes, but some are just downright boring and terrible.

Anyway, we went to bed around 2:30, and now we're back to my New Year's Day....

We went out to breakfast to the Professor's Diner. The Professor was present, of course, and told tales of his evening playing bingo. Some woman came in and he asked how she spent her NYE and she said she was asleep at 10:30. She said, "If you've seen the ball drop once, it's the same thing every year. Let me know when it goes UP instead of DOWN!"

We had a good breakfast and then Re headed home. Dan and I went to Target and helped ourselves to more of the 70% off Christmas goods.

We came home and watched some Twilight Zone and finally caught up on The Flash! We had one episode left from when we were in Disney. Then, at 1:00, we left to go to Linda's mom's house for a special New Year's Day dinner.

We got there around 2 and we got to see the basement in it's almost-emptied-out state. They're in the process of moving everything and so it's really starting to clear out. We played darts and hung out until it was time to eat.

Dinner was great, Fresh Pork! I had the pork, mashed potatoes, and corn! Good times. After dinner, we hung out, played some more games and then had dessert. I had some New Year's cupcakes. They were quite enjoyable.

After that, we went back to Linda's house and checked out the progress there. New paint on the walls, new couch, a TV, a dining room table. It's all coming together! The kids have beds in their rooms and the Christmas tree was in place. We gave the kids their presents.... Cameron got an Olaf hat that we got in Disney World and Connor got a Sonic game for the Wii U.

We were the lucky recipients of a flip waffle maker! It's amazing. It's just like what they have in the hotels. Every time we got to a hotel I love their waffle makers and I happened to mention that when we were at the Homewood Suites with Linda back in October! What a perfect present. Just what I wanted and I didn't even remember how much I wanted it until we got it. (I feel like that's the perfect gift.... the thing you really needed/wanted but didn't even remember it, and someone else heard you say it and remembered it and really surprised you.) Yes, a really thoughtful gift.

I only wish I was so good at gift giving. I feel like I'm terrible at knowing what people want or what to get them.

So, we played some games with Connor and Cameron. First we played Candyland and then we played a Frozen game. The Frozen game was good but the weirdest thing about it was that you had to keep flipping parts of the board over and they were so hard to get out of the board! There were only game pieces so Linda played using a dog Christmas tree ornament!

It was a really fun day and a great way to kick off the new year! We left around 9:00 and stopped at Target on the way home to get some supplies for making waffles! I really didn't want to waste any time. In fact, I kinda wanted to make them for dinner tonight, but Dan talked me into waiting for tomorrow.

Instead, we had Target pizza for dinner tonight. We watched a few lame episodes of the Twilight Zone, and then got showered up and ready for bed. I am doing some laundry now and as soon as it's finished we're off to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com