Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 05, 2015 - 10:32 p.m.
"phases out all over the place"

Hey Journal!

Well, today was a really weird Monday! First off, it was the first Monday at work this year that I was completely alone. Doug was going to come in to work in the office but he had car issues, so he's coming Wednesday instead.

In several ways, I think it worked out better that he's coming Wednesday because I had a lot to do that I needed to concentrate on, and being alone gave me a lot of time to focus.

I got up at the regular time and headed off to work. The morning was good, I started cranking things out. I called a few places that do Audio work in hopes of finding someone to re-do the restaurant's sound system. Sadly, it seems this is a hard business to pin down. The first place I called, I got a guy's voicemail. I was going to leave a message, but his mailbox was full. The second one I found took me about an hour to find and when I called, I left a message but nobody ever got back to me.

Anyway, I worked on the vitamin stuff for a while in the morning and then I processed all of the dues payments that had come in over the weekend. We got a ton of checks and a bunch of website payments.

I was just hitting my groove and getting everything taken care of when the power went out. It was the strangest thing, though. First the office lights flickered and my computer went off. (Which reminds me, I have to replace the battery on my computer since it shouldn't go off like that.) Anyway, something wasn't right, though. I looked around and the hallway lights were on, and the TV was flashing on and off.

After a while, I got up and realized something WEIRD was going on. There are about ten fluorescent lights in the hallway, all on the same switch, but three of them were on and the rest were off. In our office, the copy machine was on, but the TV was messed up and the computers were off. Steve's office lights worked fine.

The craziness set off the fire alarm and the restaurant had half power, too.

I called LIPA and reported the outage. They had a recorded message, so I was hoping help was on the way! I called the cemetery and they said everything was fine. No power troubles at all.

We're fed by three phases that come from different places so, it appears that one or two of them were knocked out and we were operating on half power. The battery on the server computer which normally has an input of 112 volts was reporting 54 volts.

After about an hour I called the middle school that's just around the corner. A lady in the main office answered and I asked her if she was having power problems. She said yes, that their lights were off, some were flickering, some were on, and that all of their computers were off.

At least now I felt better that it wasn't just us.... It was more of a widespread thing.

I sat around in the dark office for a while with nothing at all to do. Way to kill my groove! Just when I was getting things done, it all fell apart.

At about 1:30 my mom brought me some Chipotle for lunch. I ate in the restaurant and then returned to the office.

A little after 3:00 I decided to get out and drive around and see if I could see where the problem was or if I could see anybody working to fix it. Just as I was putting my coat on, it all came back! The weird beeping noises that sounded like a hospital room stopped, and that's how I knew we were back in business.

The rest of the day I printed out the monthly invoices and started working on printing the February dues invoices.

I was going to leave work a little early but one thing led to another and I didn't wind up leaving till 4:55! Well, it was 5 minutes early.

I got home and Dan got home just a few minutes later. He went to the gym and I started cooking dinner. We wanted to have spaghetti and sausage tonight. I defrosted the sausage and then boiled it. When Dan got home I was just boiling the water for the spaghetti. Dan showered up and then put the sausages on the grill. I heated up the sauce, and we got it all together.

It came out REALLY good tonight... the sauce was really good... Ragu onion and garlic, and the sausage was spicy. I thoroughly enjoyed.

After that I took a shower and then we got ready to watch Major Crimes! Tonight's episode was good and I particularly enjoyed it because Dan wasn't able to predict exactly what happened by the first commercial break. He had done that the past few weeks and that was starting to make the show feel too scripted for me!

Now it's bed time! Work again tomorrow... It's crazy to be back on a normal work schedule after all the craziness of Christmas and New Year!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com